Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I cannot believe all of the great reviews this got. I followed the recipe as written, even reducing the amount of syrup and brown sugar as suggested in Allrecipes Magazine, which is where I got the recipe. I wound up with a good, typical apple crisp topping, but there was a lot of liquid in the bottom of the pan. I did use pure maple syrup, not the fake kind, so I have no idea what went wrong. It was just barely ok, not great by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The taste was decent, but the crisp was really runny. When I read the recipe, I wondered how it would thicken, but with so many positive reviews, I assumed I was just missing something. Nope, followed the recipe as written and it was quite watery. Maybe I just had really juicy apples?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was a runny mess. The topping was nice but the insides did not thicken at all. When I was making it I was wondering if I was supposed to dredge the apples in flour but this is not indicated anywhere. As I made it for a company dinner I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Chapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious and easy to make with ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I love the sound of this recipe but wanted to read through reviews I read a post by a reader that I had to address first before even making this recipe. It read "Maple products lose their flavor at high temperatures, which is why it takes so long to make the syrup - the boil must be controlled in the low 200 degree region. Made as posted, there was barely a hint of maple flavor." This information is not true I produce maple syrup for a living and high temperatures are exactly how we get maple syrup, pure maple syrup comes in different intensity's hence the system of labeling it;light medium and dark. The lighter the syrup in color usually the lighter and more delicate in flavor and the darker the syrup the more robust the flavor. Grade B syrup being the most robust and is typically used in cooking. Most people are familiar with maple flavoring and they don't realize maple syrup really doesn't taste anything like that. If you like that strong flavor I suggest you put in a couple drops of maple flavoring. The only thing high temperature does do to maple syrup (if you don't burn it) is make it thicker and darker. I look forward to trying this recipe as is. I love spices so I may experiment with cinnamon and nutmeg on subsequent tries. My only other thought is that the poster may have been using imitation syrup or a imitation blend I can't speak to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Tried this last night and it was great! The maple syrup gives plain old apple crisp an interesting change. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have done this recipe twice now and it is delicious. It is a bit sweeter then I like but found if I cut back on the Maple syrup it is better. I like to use tart apples as well as this helps tone down the sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I thought this was great, loved the addition of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing. I followed some of the reviewers suggestions and I doubled the flour and oatmeal, only used 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1/3 cup of maple syrup. I also added a splash of vanilla to the apple/syrup mixture. It took about 45 minutes to bake with the added ingredients. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love apple crisp, and wanted to try a few new recipes. I wasn't sure about about maple syrup, but it turned out great! What a perfect fall dessert with vanilla ice cream and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States