Manuela's Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
this was great had a nice texture to it, and was fun to make, we had it along side a salad and in between bread with tarter sauce and lettuce for a fancy fish sammy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Really messy to work with but gets 5 stars cause my sniffling boy ate something with a lot of pleasure. These indeed are delicious if a picky 4 year old loves them and asks for leftovers. We used all salmon and sprinkled some lemon pepper afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My family absolutely loved this! Even my little one who swears she hates halibut. I used halibut that I had cooked in the crock pot with mango salsa the night before and this added a wonderful extra flavor to it. I found that I was out of Worcestershire sauce so I was a little concerned that it wouldn't have alot of flavor so I did add extra pepper and sea salt with a tough of extra nutmeg also. Being cooked with the salsa the night before it turned out fabulous! We will definetely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is so so good. Even my picky 2-year old ate it. We made our own seasoned bread crumbs and used our left over salmon. It's messy, but thanks to the previous reviews, I was prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Big hit with my whole family. Very yummy. I added some bread crumbs to the fish mixture before making patties. This helped firm up the mix and made it less messy. Also increased the nutmeg and Worcestershire to a teaspoon and added some Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Swanberg
Home Town: Brier, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forbiden princess
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
LOVED this..i used Cod..had to use butter on my hands not flour...but they were a hit for my picky boyfriend! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The cook times took a little longer for me, maybe due to the type of potato or thickness of fish. To help the messiness, after forming the patty, I used a spatula to carry & flip the patties in the egg & bread crumbs. I added a few crumbs to the mix, but the patties were still messy, though I didn't mind. All in all, the patties came out great tasting! I'll try different potatoes & different seasoned crumbs next time for a different flavor. Maybe I'll try a different fish too. I used Italian crumbs & red potatoes this time around. I didn't have any halibut, so I used extra salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I thought this was OK but not 5 star. Had trouble keeping these together when cooking. Flavors were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This Recipe is tasty, but it was a bit messy to make the Fish Cakes. I used Fresh Atlantic Pollock, from my NH Community Seafood Weekly Share. I also used Peeled, Little, Red Potatoes. I recommend that you also include a 1/2 of the Bread Crumbs into the Fish and Potatoe Mixture (before you make the Fish Cakes, so they will hold together better). I stuck to the Recipe, but you could add a few more Spices (i.e.: Hot Pepper, Parsley, Oregano) so it isn't so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made these because so many people said they were outstanding. Not only did my kids not eat them, I almost didn't either because the consistency was off-putting and mushy. They weren't awful but certainly not worth making again. The effort of boiling the potatoes, cooking the fish and making the whole thing into a cake, dipping in egg and bread crumbs to fry was a whole lot of effort for something with so little flavor. They definitely need something more than nutmeg and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States