Manuela's Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I agree with the previous commenter that the texture is terrible. This recipe is a lot of effort for mushy and pretty bland results. I think you could very easily spice up the flavor with a few extra ingredients but you can't do much about the texture without a major recipe overhaul. For those of you who do like these, try making the patties then refrigerating before dipping in egg and breadcrumbs to cut down on the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forbiden princess
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
LOVED this..i used Cod..had to use butter on my hands not flour...but they were a hit for my picky boyfriend! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made these because so many people said they were outstanding. Not only did my kids not eat them, I almost didn't either because the consistency was off-putting and mushy. They weren't awful but certainly not worth making again. The effort of boiling the potatoes, cooking the fish and making the whole thing into a cake, dipping in egg and bread crumbs to fry was a whole lot of effort for something with so little flavor. They definitely need something more than nutmeg and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I thought this was OK but not 5 star. Had trouble keeping these together when cooking. Flavors were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The cook times took a little longer for me, maybe due to the type of potato or thickness of fish. To help the messiness, after forming the patty, I used a spatula to carry & flip the patties in the egg & bread crumbs. I added a few crumbs to the mix, but the patties were still messy, though I didn't mind. All in all, the patties came out great tasting! I'll try different potatoes & different seasoned crumbs next time for a different flavor. Maybe I'll try a different fish too. I used Italian crumbs & red potatoes this time around. I didn't have any halibut, so I used extra salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Big hit with my whole family. Very yummy. I added some bread crumbs to the fish mixture before making patties. This helped firm up the mix and made it less messy. Also increased the nutmeg and Worcestershire to a teaspoon and added some Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brier, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is so so good. Even my picky 2-year old ate it. We made our own seasoned bread crumbs and used our left over salmon. It's messy, but thanks to the previous reviews, I was prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My family absolutely loved this! Even my little one who swears she hates halibut. I used halibut that I had cooked in the crock pot with mango salsa the night before and this added a wonderful extra flavor to it. I found that I was out of Worcestershire sauce so I was a little concerned that it wouldn't have alot of flavor so I did add extra pepper and sea salt with a tough of extra nutmeg also. Being cooked with the salsa the night before it turned out fabulous! We will definetely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Really messy to work with but gets 5 stars cause my sniffling boy ate something with a lot of pleasure. These indeed are delicious if a picky 4 year old loves them and asks for leftovers. We used all salmon and sprinkled some lemon pepper afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
this was great had a nice texture to it, and was fun to make, we had it along side a salad and in between bread with tarter sauce and lettuce for a fancy fish sammy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States