Manti (Turkish 'Ravioli' with Yogurt Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I'm sure real manti would be even better, but this is a quick, easy and delicious way to fix frozen beef ravioli. I only used 6 oz. of yogurt because that's the size the whole milk brand I found comes in. It was plenty to give the pasta a nice coating. Update: I've now been to Turkey and had real manti...where I was they did drain them. Manti are really tiny, but the ravioli are a fair substitute, taste-wise. I still think this is a great recipe. Thanks again, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
You are actually not suppose drain the water out of the ravioli! It is suppose to be like creamy soup! So I would say use one ladle of the water and as little or as much yogurt as you would like. Sorry it got left out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
When we tried it, it was a little bland, so we added more paprika, salt and pepper at the table. Once it was a little spicer, it had a great flavor! Very easy, would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I didn't like this at all. I thought it sounded similar to a dish I had in a turkish restaurant and loved but it tasted nothing like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very easy. I left the water off the ravioli and just spooned the yogurt(i heated it first) on it thick then the butter. I made my own ravioli with crab, cheese tomato and pesto, so the yogurt was perfect to soften the ravioli spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirls8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
amazing! Just like the real thing- which is much harder to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The McCamans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have never eaten Turkish food before, but am always game to try something new. Maybe it is an acquired taste, but this was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmtanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
If you make the yogurt/garlic mixture a few hours ahead and leave it in the fridge it's tastier. I also mix the mint into the yogurt. My mother-in-law uses a bit of tomato sauce heated in olive oil instead of the butter/paprika. I've had it both ways and prefer the tomato sauce/olive oil more. Ravioli is a good substitute but real Manti makes a difference. Living in Turkey we can get all different kinds and they are delicious. If you have the opportunity to get the original, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I never tried manti before told a local turk this was the american version and added garlic and tomatoes sauce as an authentic recipe indicated... either way its good! I will find out if a real turk can accept it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This recipe is extraordinary and so easy. I made a few changes. I used fresh mint instead of dried and put a sprig in the pasta water and two teaspoons, chopped, into the Greek yogurt. I cut the butter in half to 2 tablespoons. It is delightfully garlicky, which I love. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States