Man's Way Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This was very good, and easy. I added some chopped red and green bell pepper as well as chopped onion. Also added a little half-and-half to the eggs and poured them over the sausage, potatoes and peppers in the 9x13 baking dish, then baked the whole thing for about 30 minutes. Kicked it up a notch with a little cayenne pepper too. My men loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This recipe is FABULOUS. The potatoes, the sausage, the egg - it's the ultimate breakfast. I made as-is, except for omitting the paprika and adding Tony's, but that was personal preference. I also didn't have a cheesy smoked sausage, but I just sprinkled a handful of cheddar cheese over the kielbasa in the pan, and that worked out well. One thing I did do was pour the raw eggs over the sausage/potato mix and then cook it like that. Which was great and saved a pan, but I think cooking the potatoes in the oven might give them more of a roasted flavor. The eggs also stuck a bit to the pan, cooked like that. You NEED to try this. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was very good. Like the previous reviewer, I also baked mine for 30 minutes. My family all liked it. I also cut up the sausage before browning it, and added chopped bell pepper and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I used tater tots instead of potatoes. I cooked (fried?) them in a skillet while the sausage was browning. I added some heavy whipping cream to the beaten eggs and like a previous reviewer, I poured the eggs over the tots and sausage and then topped it with mozzarella AND cheddar cheese, since I also didnt have the cheesy sausages, only smoked sausage. I baked it for 30 minutes. Anyways, everyone LOVED this meal. I was VERY impressed at how versatile this recipe is, because I am one of those people that has to read te directions step by step for mac and cheese still!!!!! LOL... Thanks OP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This was a hit! I was looking for an alternative to the "Breakfast Casserole". I did add cheese to the eggs. I also cut up the potatoes into bite size peices, the sausage 1 inch peices instead of 2 inches. This was so good I dont think I will be making the breakfast casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
My husband and I loved this hearty dish! We had it for dinner one evening with slow cooked grits. I did use sausage links (left over from breakfast) that worked just as well! We will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I would have given this a 3 - however, I used Idaho potatoes and that could have made this much drier than the recipe actually is. Basic meat and potatoes without any real flavor. I added whipping cream to the eggs and poured them in before baking and baked 30 min. Maybe I didn't use enough cream - mine also stuck to the bottom of the pan. The guys agreed it was a 2-3 star (the way I made it). I had to add sour cream and salsa for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this for supper tonight & it was excelent! Of course I modified it...I melted some butter & sautee'd some chopped onion & fresh minced garlic. I mixed the butter, garlic & onion with the potatoes, & when I was done browning the sausage, I mixed some milk with the eggs, made the scrambled eggs & mixed them right into the potato mixture & put it on the bottom of the pan, & topped it with sausage. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350º I just used a regular smoked sausage ring. My hubby added cheese to his potatoes, but I didn't think they needed it! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was very good. My husbad and kids really liked it. I did it all in the electric skilled. I did add grated cheddard on top at the end and let it melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is TASTY! I followed the recipe almost exactly - just added cheddar on top. Easy, hearty & economical:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAZZARI76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States