Man's Way Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This was very good, and easy. I added some chopped red and green bell pepper as well as chopped onion. Also added a little half-and-half to the eggs and poured them over the sausage, potatoes and peppers in the 9x13 baking dish, then baked the whole thing for about 30 minutes. Kicked it up a notch with a little cayenne pepper too. My men loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This recipe is FABULOUS. The potatoes, the sausage, the egg - it's the ultimate breakfast. I made as-is, except for omitting the paprika and adding Tony's, but that was personal preference. I also didn't have a cheesy smoked sausage, but I just sprinkled a handful of cheddar cheese over the kielbasa in the pan, and that worked out well. One thing I did do was pour the raw eggs over the sausage/potato mix and then cook it like that. Which was great and saved a pan, but I think cooking the potatoes in the oven might give them more of a roasted flavor. The eggs also stuck a bit to the pan, cooked like that. You NEED to try this. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was very good. Like the previous reviewer, I also baked mine for 30 minutes. My family all liked it. I also cut up the sausage before browning it, and added chopped bell pepper and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I used tater tots instead of potatoes. I cooked (fried?) them in a skillet while the sausage was browning. I added some heavy whipping cream to the beaten eggs and like a previous reviewer, I poured the eggs over the tots and sausage and then topped it with mozzarella AND cheddar cheese, since I also didnt have the cheesy sausages, only smoked sausage. I baked it for 30 minutes. Anyways, everyone LOVED this meal. I was VERY impressed at how versatile this recipe is, because I am one of those people that has to read te directions step by step for mac and cheese still!!!!! LOL... Thanks OP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This was a hit! I was looking for an alternative to the "Breakfast Casserole". I did add cheese to the eggs. I also cut up the potatoes into bite size peices, the sausage 1 inch peices instead of 2 inches. This was so good I dont think I will be making the breakfast casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
My husband and I loved this hearty dish! We had it for dinner one evening with slow cooked grits. I did use sausage links (left over from breakfast) that worked just as well! We will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I would have given this a 3 - however, I used Idaho potatoes and that could have made this much drier than the recipe actually is. Basic meat and potatoes without any real flavor. I added whipping cream to the eggs and poured them in before baking and baked 30 min. Maybe I didn't use enough cream - mine also stuck to the bottom of the pan. The guys agreed it was a 2-3 star (the way I made it). I had to add sour cream and salsa for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this for supper tonight & it was excelent! Of course I modified it...I melted some butter & sautee'd some chopped onion & fresh minced garlic. I mixed the butter, garlic & onion with the potatoes, & when I was done browning the sausage, I mixed some milk with the eggs, made the scrambled eggs & mixed them right into the potato mixture & put it on the bottom of the pan, & topped it with sausage. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350º I just used a regular smoked sausage ring. My hubby added cheese to his potatoes, but I didn't think they needed it! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was very good. My husbad and kids really liked it. I did it all in the electric skilled. I did add grated cheddard on top at the end and let it melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is TASTY! I followed the recipe almost exactly - just added cheddar on top. Easy, hearty & economical:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAZZARI76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States