Manjar (Dulce de Leche) from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My son and I made this for a school project. Tasted great, but was runny soup; never got to the consistency of pudding. We cooked and stirred for over an hour. After we added the baking soda it foamed up but did not thicken as the recipe describes. We got tired of cooking it after an hour and 30 minutes total so into the fridge it went hoping it would firm up. No luck. Not sure if we over cooked it or if there is an ingredient missing from the recipe. Would make it again if I knew how to make it thicken. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
It's a fantastic recipe for caramel especially for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I tried this recipe once and I didn't get the pudding texture at all and I think it is because the recipe doesn't have enough sugar. I am made it and I added 2 1/2 cups of sugar and it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Three stars only because it is so much work. In Peru, we just cook a can of sweetened condensed milk til thick and carmael colored. Or go the really easy way, visit the Mexican food isle of the grocery store. You can buy a can of prepared dulce de leche (La lechera by Nestle). try it as a filling for your favorite cake roll recipe. One can fills one 12" cake roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Mine turned out great! Is the USA you have to use sweetened condensed milk, otherwise it would be too runny (all milk seems watered down here). Other than that, it is a good basic recipe that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Colin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
As written, it does not work, even with extra sugar. Making this takes time. Cook for one hour, add 1/2 tsp of baking soda (let foam, don't try to stir it in), cook for another 1-2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was a really tasty recipe but it took over 2 hours for me, though I doubled the recipe. I started to get impatient and turned up the heat a little in the last half hour which may have helped it along. As per another reviewer's advice, I added 2.5 times the amount of sugar, so 5 cups total. I think that amount might have been too much though. I also forgot the baking soda. It turned out really tasty, thick and caramelly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this recipe did nor come out at all the way it should have. we spent 2 hours on it. it was two hours of work for nothing. we ended up just having to buy caramel which was less time and effort and gave us what we wanted right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tried it with heavy cream instead of whole milk and brown sugar; that worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Coming from a Puerto Rican family, I grew up on dulce de leche. This recipe turned out well but took a little too long. Dulce de Leche is actually known throughout all Latin countries including the Caribbean and is actually said to have originated in Argentina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States