Manjar (Dulce de Leche) from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Three stars only because it is so much work. In Peru, we just cook a can of sweetened condensed milk til thick and carmael colored. Or go the really easy way, visit the Mexican food isle of the grocery store. You can buy a can of prepared dulce de leche (La lechera by Nestle). try it as a filling for your favorite cake roll recipe. One can fills one 12" cake roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I tried this recipe once and I didn't get the pudding texture at all and I think it is because the recipe doesn't have enough sugar. I am made it and I added 2 1/2 cups of sugar and it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My son and I made this for a school project. Tasted great, but was runny soup; never got to the consistency of pudding. We cooked and stirred for over an hour. After we added the baking soda it foamed up but did not thicken as the recipe describes. We got tired of cooking it after an hour and 30 minutes total so into the fridge it went hoping it would firm up. No luck. Not sure if we over cooked it or if there is an ingredient missing from the recipe. Would make it again if I knew how to make it thicken. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Mine turned out great! Is the USA you have to use sweetened condensed milk, otherwise it would be too runny (all milk seems watered down here). Other than that, it is a good basic recipe that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Beasley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tried it with heavy cream instead of whole milk and brown sugar; that worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was my first attempt to make Dulce de leche from scratch, and I am very pleased with the results. A few notes: 1) This takes time, but if you cook it on low, you only need to check in on it occasionally. When I made it, I cooked on low and it took about 4.5 hours, but at such a low heat I only needed to check in on it about once every half an hour. That means that it is not a hassle if you are doing other chores around the house. 2) It is very important to strain the dulce de leche before it is eaten or stored. The purpose of the baking soda in this recipe is to keep the milk from coagulating. That being said, there will be some small amount of coagulation at the top, and these weird bits will interfere with the other smooth, delicious experience. I will note that in the past I have made dulce de leche by boiling the can of sweetened condensed milk, and the raw ingredient approach produces a far superior result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Coming from a Puerto Rican family, I grew up on dulce de leche. This recipe turned out well but took a little too long. Dulce de Leche is actually known throughout all Latin countries including the Caribbean and is actually said to have originated in Argentina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
As written, it does not work, even with extra sugar. Making this takes time. Cook for one hour, add 1/2 tsp of baking soda (let foam, don't try to stir it in), cook for another 1-2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
It's a fantastic recipe for caramel especially for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this recipe did nor come out at all the way it should have. we spent 2 hours on it. it was two hours of work for nothing. we ended up just having to buy caramel which was less time and effort and gave us what we wanted right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States