Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
SUPER EASY TO MAKE!!!! My Family and I LOVED THESE SHELLS, I will make AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickleuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These are awesome for everything! I was skeptical at first... Liquid batter in a frying pan for pasta? Sounded so wrong, but oh my gosh! So good! They are awesome and versatile. I've made lasagne with them, I used them in country style chicken noodle soup. I love big fat fresh noodles like this in my soup. These are just an awesome, easy recipe that I can use for a lot of stuff! I can make the pasta any size I want, or as thick or thin as I want. I can add herbs, seasonings, anything I want! So cool! Thank you for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for over 30 years. I HATE those hard shells you buy. They are tough and hard to eat. These are so tender, you will never go back to those other ones. I spray my pan after each one with Pam and works great as they slide right out. I have also made pasta and rolled them out (#4 setting on hand crank pasta machine)in oblong sheets, cutting them to the size I needed. Stuffing goes in, roll, place face down on a sauced bottom casserole, top with sauce and mozzarella. My stuffing is my Nana Ortenzi's recipe of Meatloaf mix, Ricotta(NO ITALIAN ever uses cottage cheese!), Chopped spinach, eggs, Mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These were odd to make because I thought they would be more like manicotti shells, but they turned out great! I stuffed them with cheeses, sausage and spinich topped with marinara. Yum! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was a nice change from regular dried manicotti noodles. I used this with the Manicotti Alla Romana recipe which is one I have made many of times. The texture was nice with these. With the extra pasta I put cream cheese and jelly like a crepe and heated for breakfast the next day. Can you also put eggs and a protein and wrap that way as well. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe makes 18 1/4 cup crapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Surprised at the flavor and texture, very good and mimics a noodle pretty good. Super fast and much easier to fill than a pre shaped noodle. My only caution...make sure to cook them on very low heat...we had some that slightly browned, that was not desirable. Great recipe anyone can make in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
So easy. Tastes just right. Fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
These were just ok. Like another reviewer said they were very crepe-like. Might make them again if I was in a pinch. I stuffed them with maicotti and baked baked them. Turned out better than I expected, but still not as good as regular manicotti shells. I'll probably just make lasagna roll ups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is the best way to make pasta shells! No boiling and no splitting. The only difference between this recipe and the recipe I have used for years is that I use 1.5 cups of flour and 1.5 cups of water. The rest is the same. Don't overbeat the batter, it shouldn't be frothy. Then let it stand in the fridge for 30 minutes or overnight. Make sure the pan is nice and hot and well-greased (I use margarine), then swirl the batter quickly to coat the bottom. Grease the pan between shells, and they should just fall out when you turn it onto a cooling rack. No flipping required. Stack them between wax paper when cool and they're really easy to handle. They freeze well this way too. I usually get just over 20 shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States