Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These are Cannelloni shells rather than Manicotti Shells (Manicotti are definitive tubes which are stuffed while Cannelloni are round, flat pasta or crepes rolled around filling). They turned out absolutely PERFECT though and I would highly recommend as these are so much easier to use than store-bought manicotti shells which always tear on me during the boiling process and are a pain in the butt to stuff. Not only that, these are tasty, foolproof, and uses ingredients one always has on hand. I used my smallest (6") non-stick frying pan, wiped with an oiled paper towel between 1/4 cupfuls of batter, tipping the pan immediately after pouring to get the batter evenly over the bottom of the pan and form perfect circles. After about 15 seconds I turned them over for another 10-15 seconds, took them out and put on waxed paper until ready to use. I used the filling and sauces from the "Manicotti Alla Romana" from this site (which I refer to as Cannelloni when using these batter shells), excellent! These are also awesome using a tiny bit of extra water and 1/8 cupful batter for crepes, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
If you want a quick and easy Manicotti shell...this is the recipe to use! I wanted to make homemade Manicotti shells since I always used dry tubes that would split right open when I filled them. These came out perfect. I used less batter in the pan though. I like a paper thin Manicotti shell. I also used Non-Stick cooking spray instead of butter and no need to cook both sides, they are perfectly fine cooked on 1 side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaCan2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was a very easy recipe. I made it wheat free by using gluten free flour in replace of the other flour. It still worked great, and now my daughter can eat them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Perfect recipe, Diane! I used this for making Cannelloni shells in a 7" fry pan. As you get down towards the end, you may need to add a bit of water. The longer it sits, the thicker it gets. Don't bother looking for another recipe, though. This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Quick and easy. I did change a couple of things. I used seltzer instead of water. After everything was mixed, I then ran the mixture through a seive and refrigerated for an hour. I used vegetable spray instead of butter in the fry pan. A couple minutes on each side at low heat is all it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
LOVE! Never buying shells again. So easy. Followed another reviewers suggestion and added 1 cup water and 1 cup 2% milk. Used a generous pinch of Kosher Salt, added granulated garlic and whisked. Used 8" pan that I sprayed with Canola Oil Spray and wiped with a paper towel. Made large "shells" (1/3 cup at a time) and then stuffed them with Cottage Cheese (low fat Knudson), parmesan and fresh white Italian cheese mix (bagged) chopped fresh basil, granulated garlic, onion powder, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper. Beat the Cottage Cheese mixture with a whisk so it would resemble Ricota (hiding ingred. from hubby). Mixed roasted veggies in with the cheese. Wrapped each Shell like a burrito and placed in a layer of sauce. 9 X 13 glass pan - sprayed with cooking spray. Covered all with sauce and cheese. So So Good! Posted two pix of my efforts. Hubby ate 1/2 the pan. DEFINITE KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These manicottie shells turned out great! I didn't have a griddle so I just used a frying pan (they looked more like pancakes but tasted like manicottis). I added ingredients and folded the shells in, put pasta sauce over the top and baked for 40 minutes. Everyone loved them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Náchod, Královéhradecký Kraj, Czech Republic
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
These were good but very unpasta like. More like a crepe. I will probably keep as a crepe recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by counterjester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This recipe is MOST DEFINATELY Manicotti shells. As a 2nd generation Italian with relatives from Sicily, Naples and Calabrese, believe me these are it. I use club soda instead of water though, but either way wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waretown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Authentic manicotti, just like the ones I ate in Italy. These are a lighter noodle than cannelloni which is pasta, wrapped around rollers, then boiled. These are supposed to be between a crepe and a noodle. Crepes have a milk base For a thin monicotti just add a little more water to this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States