Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These turned out fantastic. I had no problems with them at all although they took a little longer to cook per side than th recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe is a real "keeper". I have been married to an Italian for 56 years.I never made my own manicotti shells. This Christmas I decided to "give it a try",I was happy to find this recipe on my favorite web site (all/recipes)......WONDERFUL !!! Easy, light,everyone loved them. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Killer Yummy. I will never buy a manicotti shell again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I was nervous about this recipe, but it worked out really well actually. I played around with the size of the pour until I got it right. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Andover, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Its by far easier to roll the filling in the shells, but they didn't really turn out to have a pasta like taste. They were still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These are Cannelloni shells rather than Manicotti Shells (Manicotti are definitive tubes which are stuffed while Cannelloni are round, flat pasta or crepes rolled around filling). They turned out absolutely PERFECT though and I would highly recommend as these are so much easier to use than store-bought manicotti shells which always tear on me during the boiling process and are a pain in the butt to stuff. Not only that, these are tasty, foolproof, and uses ingredients one always has on hand. I used my smallest (6") non-stick frying pan, wiped with an oiled paper towel between 1/4 cupfuls of batter, tipping the pan immediately after pouring to get the batter evenly over the bottom of the pan and form perfect circles. After about 15 seconds I turned them over for another 10-15 seconds, took them out and put on waxed paper until ready to use. I used the filling and sauces from the "Manicotti Alla Romana" from this site (which I refer to as Cannelloni when using these batter shells), excellent! These are also awesome using a tiny bit of extra water and 1/8 cupful batter for crepes, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara_hengels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These turned out wonderful! Next time I will half the recipe- the amount in the recipe as given made too many for me. I also used a 7-inch non-stick fry pan with a little cooking spray with great results. Filled these with a spinach cheese filling and they baked up so nice and tender; not mushy at all. Time to find some new manicotti fillings to use with these! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Very easy to make, and tasted great! I like this method of making manicotti much better than the boil and fill the slippery shell variety. It's nice to be able to whip these up at a moments notice and not have to worry about having shells on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wow! I've never made manicotti shells before, and these were delicious! At first I thought they would be too thick, but they turned out perfectly. I filled them with a spinach ricotta filling and topped them with homemade marinara sauce, baked them for 20 minutes and enjoyed them thoroughly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States