Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I agree that these are a little crepe-like, but once baked they work perfectly! And they were really simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Oh wow, these were so excellent. We stuffed them with chicken and cottage cheese (my kids aren't big on ricotta) and some mozza cheese and some other seasoning. Put a little sauce under and a little sauce over,as well as mozza over. We covered in tin foil and baked 40 min. My entire family loved it - even my fussy 5 yr old...and that is saying something. This is something we will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Actually, manicotti shells in stores are not for manicotti. THOSE are the cannelloni shells. My great great grandma made these crepe-like pancakes for manicotti and she was straight from Sicily. I am proud to see true italian cuisine starting to show up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
So easy to make and easier to stuff. We preferred these to store bought shells for the homemade appeal. They are more like crepes than pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I never made manicotti shells and I will never buy them again. These cook faster than it takes for the water to boil for the boxed shells and the tasted great and super easy to fill. Thanks will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I will never use the dry packaged manicotti shells ever again! This taste a million times better and it's a million times easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I've made these twice now. I use a 8-1/2" skillet, dip a 1/4 cup measure of batter and swirl in the skillet (like a crepe)I have a plate waiting and put shells between waxpaper while hot. Both times it's made 20 shells. These are so much better than store bought. Even the next day they're not soggy. Pretty much fill em with whatever you want, and same with the sauce you pour over it. This is a company pleaser. You wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Wow these were really good. My family loved them especially my husband. I got 13 large shells out of this recipe I don't think I will ever buy shells again. This was so much easier and quicker then the shells. I filled mine with ricotta, mozzarella, Parmesan, spinach, garlic powder, onion powder and Italian seasoning. Topped with sauce and mozzarella cheese. Baked them at 350 for 20 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Awesome recipe!! I made cannelloni with these shells. My husband said it was the best meal I ever made. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANSNSTEVE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Great recipe and easy to make! Kinda like making pancakes. Not too much work and definitely worth the trouble! Btw, if you do this you will notice the HUGE difference between fresh pasta and store bought. Melts like butter in your mouth. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States