Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These are definitely crepe shells. I made them with manicotti and had to throw out the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
As for the recipe - I use a 6" fry pan and flip the crepe to heat both sides. Separate each crepe with wax paper and refrigerate if not preparing right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This recipe is so good. Although it does make a lot of shells. I made a meal for 4 people and ended up halfing the recipe because it made so much. Overall I loved it and will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These worked very well! They are similar to crepe shells, but just with more egg (at least my crepe recipe). I use a smaller round pan (maybe 6 or 7" skillet) and wait until it gets hot on the burner. I like to pick it up off the burner when I am pouring the batter so that I can roll the batter around to get thin, full coverage in the pan. It takes a little practice at first. I usually find that I spray the first one and end up throwing the first one away because it never turns out well. Then, I usually don't have to spray the pan any more after that and they come off fine. I like to have the stove between medium and medium high because the process goes more quickly. You have to really watch them, but they usually start pulling away from the pan on the first side in a minute or two and are ready to be flipped. I like to at least flip them and give the second side a little color, although I don't leave them on the stove on the second side for as long. I ended up making a ricotta cheese filling, which is more of what I think of as manicotti, to go inside and I ended up with too little filling. Next time I'll double my filling recipe, but these were great and I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I thought it was going to hard to make... was I wrong .. Very easy and very good.. never buying manicotti shells again.. As my husband says "This is a keeper"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
i have been using this identical recipe for 32 years passed down from my grandmother from northern italy its perfect the beauty of it is that its not to thick and can be used for a fruit crepe or meat, pretty much anything you want...mannicooti shells are not thick at least not those in northern italy. when visiting i had different types through all the regions and they to were exactly as mine ..yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I had to make a change. I remember my mother adding milk to her manicotti shells, so I added 1 cup water and 1 cup of milk, making it more like a "crepe". This recipe doubles nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
So good. I had never made my own pasta before. This recipe was so easy and turned out sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were excellent!!! I mixed them up in the blender and poured into a nonstick pan. Cooked up perfectly. Everyone loved them at my impromptu dinner party. This will be made over and over in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is soooo good. I made this for a couple of friends the other night and they absolutely raved about them. You can literally do anything with these. Sweet or savory. Super easy to work with. I had a few left over (made about 16) so I am going to make a chicken stuffing today. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States