Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made these shells this weekend to use with my manicotti recipe and the family loved them. My daughter asked for the recipe so she can try them also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanajoan4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It took a couple of tries to figure out (likely since I'd started at 11pm and had had two glasses of wine), but once I did these shells were amazingly easy. I wasn't sure if they would have the same texture and flavor of regular pasta and was pleasantly surprised to find that they didn't. These shells are BETTER than regular pasta: more delicate and excellent flavor. Next time (and there will DEFINITELY be a next time!) I'm going to add finely chopped fresh herbs to the shell batter and likely go with a gentler sauce -- I whipped up my own red sauce to cover these once they were filled, and while that was delicious with the three-cheese and meat filling, I'm anxious to experiment! So fun, so delicious. My mother passed her "cook crown" to me upon eating these. Thank you DianeW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tarrin Storsved

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Awesome replacement to store bought shells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HansonMansion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Thank you for posting this recipes. I used the "shells" to make the Manicotti Alla Romana (also on this site) for a dinner party and it made the dish beyond 10 stars. I had made that recipe once before using store bought shells and it was 5 stars (because the filling and sauce combination is so good) but these pancake-like shells put it over the top. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Really simple to make and very tasty. From another reviewer I used the 1/4 cup in a 6" non-stick and it was perfect with just a light spray of oil. Makes enough for two full 9x13 pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This recipe is MOST DEFINATELY Manicotti shells. As a 2nd generation Italian with relatives from Sicily, Naples and Calabrese, believe me these are it. I use club soda instead of water though, but either way wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waretown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe saved my dinner tonight! I was making manicotti with store bought shells, and they completely fell apart halfway through my filling them. I had luckily saved this recipe as a "to try" for later. I had to switch gears in the middle of cooking and make a batch of these. I made exactly as written, except I halved the recipe because I only needed enough to finish filling my pan. They came out great! Obviously a different texture than the shells, and as previously stated, it is a cannelloni shell rather than manicotti, but barely a difference in taste. Thanks DianeW for this! I think I will stick to only using these in the future, and avoid the complete frustration that goes along with trying to stuff manicotti shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davinci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
LOVE! Never buying shells again. So easy. Followed another reviewers suggestion and added 1 cup water and 1 cup 2% milk. Used a generous pinch of Kosher Salt, added granulated garlic and whisked. Used 8" pan that I sprayed with Canola Oil Spray and wiped with a paper towel. Made large "shells" (1/3 cup at a time) and then stuffed them with Cottage Cheese (low fat Knudson), parmesan and fresh white Italian cheese mix (bagged) chopped fresh basil, granulated garlic, onion powder, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper. Beat the Cottage Cheese mixture with a whisk so it would resemble Ricota (hiding ingred. from hubby). Mixed roasted veggies in with the cheese. Wrapped each Shell like a burrito and placed in a layer of sauce. 9 X 13 glass pan - sprayed with cooking spray. Covered all with sauce and cheese. So So Good! Posted two pix of my efforts. Hubby ate 1/2 the pan. DEFINITE KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Authentic manicotti, just like the ones I ate in Italy. These are a lighter noodle than cannelloni which is pasta, wrapped around rollers, then boiled. These are supposed to be between a crepe and a noodle. Crepes have a milk base For a thin monicotti just add a little more water to this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These are definitely crepe shells. I made them with manicotti and had to throw out the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States