Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Easy and delicious used with the Manicotti alla Romana recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I cried when I made these cuz my daddy (god rest his soul) used to make these and I never knew how easy it was. I will make these forever. Thanks you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I agree with other reviewers who say they will never buy manicotti shells at the store again. These really are that good! I ended up with 20 7in. shells that I filled with the Manacotti Alla Romana found on this site. They were easy to make, didn't break when filling, and tasted fantastic. The recipe as is says it serves 4 but I ended up with two 9 x 13 pans of manicotti, 10 shells in each pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
exactly the same as my mom and grama make, both from Sicily! we have NEVER used tubes for manicotti; these are authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREENBEENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Used an electric griddle. These were awesome!! This recipe made 15 for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very good. I use these noodles when I make Manicotti Alla Romana from this site. When making these, I found it easiest to use a griddle instead of a skillet. Much easier to flip. Also, when you pour the batter onto the griddle, use the back of the spoon to spread it around and make it as thin as possible, otherwise it can end up too thick and bready/doughy. Thinner is definitely better! Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I've used this recipe for many years. I mix all the ingredients in the blender and then let it sit for about 30 minutes before I use it. Perfect filled with a mixture of ricotta, Parmesan, eggs, and parsley and baked with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made these shells this weekend to use with my manicotti recipe and the family loved them. My daughter asked for the recipe so she can try them also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanajoan4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It took a couple of tries to figure out (likely since I'd started at 11pm and had had two glasses of wine), but once I did these shells were amazingly easy. I wasn't sure if they would have the same texture and flavor of regular pasta and was pleasantly surprised to find that they didn't. These shells are BETTER than regular pasta: more delicate and excellent flavor. Next time (and there will DEFINITELY be a next time!) I'm going to add finely chopped fresh herbs to the shell batter and likely go with a gentler sauce -- I whipped up my own red sauce to cover these once they were filled, and while that was delicious with the three-cheese and meat filling, I'm anxious to experiment! So fun, so delicious. My mother passed her "cook crown" to me upon eating these. Thank you DianeW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samelysame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Awesome replacement to store bought shells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HansonMansion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States