Manicotti Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I loved these Cannelloni (as Christina B wrote) shells. They are not true "manicotti" tubes...but I like them so much more!! They were so easy to make but I needed to use a little bit more water (couple tablespoons) than stated in the recipe in order to be able to swirl them on a flat non stick ten-inch Nordic Ware crepe pan. I got over a dozen ten inch wrpappers. They are truly somewhere between a crepe and a pasta. My mother, while she liked them, prefers "real" pasta tubes but I really like these more. They're not as heavy as true pasta and you don't have to boil them!! If I ever make these for just me I'll definitely use this recipe again!! Thank you so much for this recipe, DianeW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I took my time to set up an account just so I could review these shells. They are easy to make and taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
SUPER EASY TO MAKE!!!! My Family and I LOVED THESE SHELLS, I will make AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickleuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These are awesome for everything! I was skeptical at first... Liquid batter in a frying pan for pasta? Sounded so wrong, but oh my gosh! So good! They are awesome and versatile. I've made lasagne with them, I used them in country style chicken noodle soup. I love big fat fresh noodles like this in my soup. These are just an awesome, easy recipe that I can use for a lot of stuff! I can make the pasta any size I want, or as thick or thin as I want. I can add herbs, seasonings, anything I want! So cool! Thank you for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for over 30 years. I HATE those hard shells you buy. They are tough and hard to eat. These are so tender, you will never go back to those other ones. I spray my pan after each one with Pam and works great as they slide right out. I have also made pasta and rolled them out (#4 setting on hand crank pasta machine)in oblong sheets, cutting them to the size I needed. Stuffing goes in, roll, place face down on a sauced bottom casserole, top with sauce and mozzarella. My stuffing is my Nana Ortenzi's recipe of Meatloaf mix, Ricotta(NO ITALIAN ever uses cottage cheese!), Chopped spinach, eggs, Mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These were odd to make because I thought they would be more like manicotti shells, but they turned out great! I stuffed them with cheeses, sausage and spinich topped with marinara. Yum! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was a nice change from regular dried manicotti noodles. I used this with the Manicotti Alla Romana recipe which is one I have made many of times. The texture was nice with these. With the extra pasta I put cream cheese and jelly like a crepe and heated for breakfast the next day. Can you also put eggs and a protein and wrap that way as well. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe makes 18 1/4 cup crapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Surprised at the flavor and texture, very good and mimics a noodle pretty good. Super fast and much easier to fill than a pre shaped noodle. My only caution...make sure to cook them on very low heat...we had some that slightly browned, that was not desirable. Great recipe anyone can make in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
So easy. Tastes just right. Fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States