Manicotti Italian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I am in the process of making this right now...I added a bit of Italian Seasoning and fresh garlic to the meat while browning. Also, I used 1/2 lb beef, 1/2 lb sausage, 1 lb rigatoni, 1 & 1/2 jars spaghetti sauce and 2 LARGE handfulls of mazzarella for a 9x13 pan Looks FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twin mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I left out the sausage just because I didn't have any on hand. I added a lil minced garlic, garlic powder, and garlic salt. When I cooked my groundbeef I added sage. This meal was really good my kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twin mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
In the end, I think this came out looking like Baked Ziti. Still really good though. I did take some suggestion from other people about adding more spice when cooking the meat. I added onions, season salt, onion powder, a little sugar and garlic. I made it with Rao's rigatoni pasta and their Vodka Sauce!! OMG!! forget about it!!! it was so freakin good, I couldn't believe I made this!!! I mixed the pasta and sauce all and added cheese with the mixture before i poured it into the casserole dish. I wanted to make sure it was all covered. Oh my husband loved it. I served it with a side of egg plant parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Grenier
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I started by halving this recipe to serve 4. I used fresh mushrooms and added a small zucchini (diced) as well as a stalk of celery (chopped). When browning the beef & sausage, I added fresh minced garlic (1 clove) as well as 3 chopped green onions. I also seasoned the browned meat mixture with salt & pepper. After mixing all ingredients together, I added approx. 1/2 tsp of dried oregano & dried parsley flakes. Also doubled the grated mozza cheese for coverage in a 9 x 13" casserole dish. Overall, good recipe, but a little bland. Could be seasoned more with a hot Italian sausage (I used mild) and fresh spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I couldn't wait to try this recipe and when I did my family just loved it. I think next time I am going to add some asparagus or some type of veggie. We really enjoy veggies at our house and that is really the only thing missing. Oh yeah I also added some fresh Parmesan to it after it was done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
LOVED This!!! Of course today you can't find 32 oz. jars of sauce so I used 2 1/3 of 24 oz. jars and 1 lb of cheese was plenty. It makes a lot so I had to move it to my roasting pan. It made at least 10 servings...the kids loved it! You can also add whatever you like to this...it is a very versitile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was very simple and good but my husband and I weren't crazy over it. It tastes like a pepperoni and sausage pizza. Green bell pepper would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was a simple, quick dish that was very good. I served it with a Caesar salad and some crusty French bread and it was a perfect weekday meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Some of us call this type of dish just baked macaroni. There are a million variations on the theme. One key is to toss all the cheese on the macaroni right after you drain off the water. By doing this you spread the cheese all over the macs & it stays there. If you put the cheese in after the macs are sauced, the cheese floats in the sauce. It will never stick to the macs. Just a century old "hint".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRubeo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I didn't care for this recipe at all. First, the quantity that this recipe made filled two casserole dishes, not one. The calories, if counted as only 8 servings, is over 900 per serving. Second, in my Italian family, manicotti consistes mostly of ricotta cheese & pasta, not beef, sausage or mozzarella cheese (at least not the main ingredients). So, this recipe is not well named. Third, I found the dish very heavy, greasy and overwhelmed by the sausage taste. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States