Manicotti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This recipe was fabulous. I did make a little change. I used ground beef as well as ground italian sausage. These two were a good flavor. I had never made manicotti before and was a little leary. It was great. Using the cream cheese gave it a smoother flavor then ricotta would have. Also, the cream cheese made it easier to stuff the pasta. I did use more cheese on the top. This was a true keeper recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this! Neither of us are huge fans of ricotta, so this was a great alternative. I even made a batch without the sausage and added spinach instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelley's Belly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Awesome recipe! My whole family loved it, including my picky 2 year old and the champion picky eater of all time, my 9 year old nephew!Wasn't sure of the cream cheese but decided to dive and give it a try. Was I glad I did! I'm sure it will become a family favorite. I was surprised at how easy it was, too. Never made manicotti before, so I was leery of it being too time consuming, but it really wasn't. I used a tip one of the other reviewers did, to stuff with your hands and it really was easy! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This was my first time making and eating manicotti. It turned out great. My husband said it was the best he had ever had. I'm not a big ricotta cheese fan, so this was fantastic. At first I tried stuffing the mixture into the manicotti with a spoon. This didn't work very well, so I used my fingers. It worked much better! I must have stuffed my manicotti with too much filling because I didn't have enough filling for all 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
I don't know who rated this before, but when I did this recipe it was wonderful! Kids helped out putting the filling in the shells and it was a great family project and in the end, the Manicotti II was excellent. Definitely a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent and easy! I use JD hot sausage and am about to make a double batch as it was requested by my husband for him to take to Thanksgiving pot luck at his work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I did not have pasta shells on hand so I rolled the mixture in lasagna noodles. I also added some Pampered Chef Italian seasonings to the cream cheese mixture and since I love cheese I added more than was called for. My 5 and 4 year olds loved this and thought it tasted like pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is the best recipe! I did add a few things though, I only used about 3/4 of an 8 ounce package of cream cheese and added more mozzerella and also a container of ricotta. I also added about 1/4 tsp of italian seasoning. It was very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
WOW! I was SOOO impresseed with the easiness and wonderful taste of this. The comments and reviews helped out a lot to make it great. I bought regular cream cheese and spiced it heavily with basil, oragano, pesto, and 2 cloves of garlic. For those heay spice lovers, I judged whether it was enough by the smell. If it still smelled heavily of cream cheese, I added extra herbs. I also used a few pinches of thyme and one dash of cumin. I also added a blend of italian cheeses instead of just mozzerella, and used more than the reciepe called for in the mixture. I saved just enough to sprinkle on the top of the dish. I also had enough to make 14 shells moderatly stuffed. This made awesome left overs too! Next time I might try lean beef (the sausage ratio to cheese mixture was a bit high), and reduced fat cream cheese as I don't want the flavor or the fat of it, but I do want the richness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Awesome recipe! Save up room for this one..its very filling! For those cutting fat & calories, use neufchatel cheese and ground turkey...season it up, and there you go! DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States