Manicotti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This recipe was pretty good- considering how simple it was. I did however, make a few changes. I only had lean ground beef on hand, so I just seasoned it. Also, I added a little bit of the spaghetti sauce to the filling to make it easier to stuff the pasta. Also, A spoon nor my fingers were working for me so I put the filling in a ziplock baggie, then cut about a half inch off of the corner. I then, basically, used it as a pastry bag to stuff the noodles. worked wonderfully:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
WOW! I was SOOO impresseed with the easiness and wonderful taste of this. The comments and reviews helped out a lot to make it great. I bought regular cream cheese and spiced it heavily with basil, oragano, pesto, and 2 cloves of garlic. For those heay spice lovers, I judged whether it was enough by the smell. If it still smelled heavily of cream cheese, I added extra herbs. I also used a few pinches of thyme and one dash of cumin. I also added a blend of italian cheeses instead of just mozzerella, and used more than the reciepe called for in the mixture. I saved just enough to sprinkle on the top of the dish. I also had enough to make 14 shells moderatly stuffed. This made awesome left overs too! Next time I might try lean beef (the sausage ratio to cheese mixture was a bit high), and reduced fat cream cheese as I don't want the flavor or the fat of it, but I do want the richness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
This recipe just didn't have enough flavor for me. It was a little too overpowered by the cream cheese. I think the next time that I make this, I will decrease the cream cheese (maybe even try an herb cream cheese) to 5-6oz and add more shredded mozzarella. I will also add some fresh herbs such as parsley, oregano and perhaps a little basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Very good, simple recipe. I double it and serve with hot fresh bread. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Rawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Wow, these are amazing! I added extra spices because I love flavor, and it made it fantastic! I have also put the filling into jumbo shell pasta, which was easier than filling the manicotti, I thought. To fill, I used a ziploc sandwich bag, filled it with the meat, and then clipped off a corner, like a makeshift frosting bag. Filling and clean up was so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was very GOOD, with a few add in's. I used Italian sausage to give some spice. i also added onion and fresh mushroom to the meat. After added the cream cheese, I put in garlic powder, organo, basil, and pepper. The add in's gave lot's of flavor! Will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is the best recipe! I did add a few things though, I only used about 3/4 of an 8 ounce package of cream cheese and added more mozzerella and also a container of ricotta. I also added about 1/4 tsp of italian seasoning. It was very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This recipe was fabulous. I did make a little change. I used ground beef as well as ground italian sausage. These two were a good flavor. I had never made manicotti before and was a little leary. It was great. Using the cream cheese gave it a smoother flavor then ricotta would have. Also, the cream cheese made it easier to stuff the pasta. I did use more cheese on the top. This was a true keeper recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipes was GREAT! My husband enjoyed it and he is not a big pasta fan. The only change/addition was adding drained spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
My husband and I loved this. It was very easy and so good. I just added some Italian spices before baking. I will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States