Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
For anyone who thinks stuffing manicotti is a challenge, try putting your sit puffing into a ziplock bag and clipping a corner off. It works just like a piping bag. I liked this recipe with Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I realize that there are some members of this community that don't like it when you rate something 5 stars when you make changes. I wish to politely disagree. I always read the reviews before I make something from this site. I consider myself a good cook but I always learn something from you guys and gals. This turned out fantastic and everyone loved it. It is a ton of work. Lots of steps. I used all Italian sausage, fresh spinach, fresh parmesan and a little mozzarella in the shell stuffing mix. I used one and a half cups Ricotta as I am not a big fan. I made the white sauce as recommend by so many reviewers with only one tablespoon bullion and added some fresh grated parmesan to it as well. I used a homemade tomato sauce that is a family favorite. There is enough stuffing to do another box of Manicotti shells. So it is in the freezer. It was delicious. Other than using the left overs for a second batch, I would only attempt this again for special occasions, just because of how much work it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Fantastic! I used a higher quality marinara sauce and mixed a bit of cottage cheese and parmesan cheese into the cheese mix. When I make this again, iI will not add as much bouillon as recipe calls, it was a bit salty. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Rominger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meechy
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
LOVED this recipe!!!! It was absolutely delicious and everyone who ate it was crazy over it. I took the advice of the reviewers and used 4 mild Italian sausage and 1/2 lb ground beef. I used Classico garlic and onion for sauce and used much more basil and parsley. The white sauce was terrific. I was afraid to try it but it really makes the dish. I used 2 chicken bouillon cubes for this. I also added a bit of Parmesan cheese to the mixture as another reviewer did. The shells were not hard to stuff at all with the zip lock method. I will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made it for dinner last night & guests and husband loved it. Followed the suggestion of previous reviewers and substituted ground beef for mild Italian sausage. I also made everything the night before and placed in the fridge and just baked the next night. Very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this as is, but added a little Italian seasoning. It was so so good. My mom has made manicotti as " her dish" on special occasions; this blows hers out of the water!! I can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is the best recipe ever! I've made it per the directions and with recommended changes and it's always awesome! This should be the number one recipe on Allrecipes! YES! I am that excited about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Really tasty - made it pretty much like the recipe but made a cheese sauce. Not sure it's that much different from lasagne though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe was delicious! It is a little labor intensive, but worth it. It makes way more than 1 9x13 pan. I made 1 9x13 and 1 9x9 pans. I still had a little filling left. Also, go easy on the chicken bouillon in the white sauce, the sauce came out a little salty. Next time I will cut down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was very tasty!!! The changes that I made was that I subbed ground beef with ground turkey and added turkey italian sausage. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States