Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This soup recipe was a better "start" than all the others I found. I like my soups thick, chunky, and manly, so ofcourse I added a few things. For starters I used a giant 52 ounce "costco" can of chopped clams (that will reduce that "strong tomato" taste people are talking about). I also used italian style stewed tomatoes instead of regular diced. I added more celery. I also added a tablespoon and a half of thyme (that is important in manhattan style chowder) I added 1/3 cup sauvignon blanc wine and 6 strips of Bacon done crisp(soaked up all fat)I also through in a couple ounces of clam juice. When I was doen I had a soup that absolutly knocked the socks off every one that tried it. I followed all other directions as stated. This soup was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
4 stars once I doctored it up a bit. When made according to the directions, I found it much too tomato-y. It also needed lots more clams. To adjust the recipe, I used a Costco-sized 52-oz. can of clams w/juice and added a 14-oz. can of chicken broth and 1/2 to 1 cup water. I also used 4 stalks celery. It makes a huge batch--nearly 8 quarts. To make half use 8 cans (6.5 oz) of clams. Halie is right--it's better the next day. But it's pretty darn good the first day too! We just love it with good bread and a big salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I followed the recommendatiions of "Soupman" and it turned out PHENOMENAL!!! This recipe actually surpasses restaurant quality and remains healthy...HERE"S WHAT TO DO: 52 oz minced clams in juice and one extra smaller (4-6 oz) can for good measure, Italian petite diced tomatoes, Sauvignon Blanc(1/2 cup or so...), plenty of fresh thyme, a few pours of clam juice, and 6 slices crispy bacon chopped, THEN just follow the rest of the recipe. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! Put this all together and it's 5 STARS!!! Thanks to you and the Soupman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Amazing! A few changes - We love clams so I used 52 oz. can of chopped clams. I also used italian style stewed tomatoes instead of regular diced. I added more celery. I also added a tablespoon and a half of thyme. This will be made in my kitchen ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I really loved this recipe. However, I did a couple of things differently. In the pan, from the very start, I put in six pieces of bacon and fried them up. I drained off the grease and threw in the tomatoes, etc. Everything had a nice smoky, bacony flavor after that. I also par cooked the carrots before dropping them in. I also used Better than Bouillon clam stock--very, very good. Doubled the clams, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
As written, I give this four stars. I felt it needed more seasonings so I ended up adding a bay leaf, thyme, and minced garlic. I added the clams at the very end and only heated them through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
fantastic,flavorful. forget those creamy clam chowders,this is one you can eat day in and day out and is also healthy .excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a 52 oz can of clams, added a can of fish stock and a can of chicken stock plus about 4 stalks of celery and a diced onion. I also added tyme which was suggested by another reviewer and used fiery roasted diced tomatoes. It tasted great! I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent!! Made 1/2 the recipe and used 1 less potato, used a lot more celery, and diced & crushed my own tomatoes in equivalent to the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe was great after I made some edits. I used twice as much clams, using defrosted frozen baby clam meat. I replaced the crushed tomato with tomato sauce and the diced tomato with stewed, and threw in more celery and used no potatoes (since I dislike them). I also had no onion powder so I just chopped up two green onions, and replaced the herbs with the same amount of Italian seasoning. I feel like I should have added a little bit of garlic as well. But this is truly a delicious low-fat, high-protein recipe with lots of omega-3s and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States