Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This soup recipe was a better "start" than all the others I found. I like my soups thick, chunky, and manly, so ofcourse I added a few things. For starters I used a giant 52 ounce "costco" can of chopped clams (that will reduce that "strong tomato" taste people are talking about). I also used italian style stewed tomatoes instead of regular diced. I added more celery. I also added a tablespoon and a half of thyme (that is important in manhattan style chowder) I added 1/3 cup sauvignon blanc wine and 6 strips of Bacon done crisp(soaked up all fat)I also through in a couple ounces of clam juice. When I was doen I had a soup that absolutly knocked the socks off every one that tried it. I followed all other directions as stated. This soup was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
4 stars once I doctored it up a bit. When made according to the directions, I found it much too tomato-y. It also needed lots more clams. To adjust the recipe, I used a Costco-sized 52-oz. can of clams w/juice and added a 14-oz. can of chicken broth and 1/2 to 1 cup water. I also used 4 stalks celery. It makes a huge batch--nearly 8 quarts. To make half use 8 cans (6.5 oz) of clams. Halie is right--it's better the next day. But it's pretty darn good the first day too! We just love it with good bread and a big salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I followed the recommendatiions of "Soupman" and it turned out PHENOMENAL!!! This recipe actually surpasses restaurant quality and remains healthy...HERE"S WHAT TO DO: 52 oz minced clams in juice and one extra smaller (4-6 oz) can for good measure, Italian petite diced tomatoes, Sauvignon Blanc(1/2 cup or so...), plenty of fresh thyme, a few pours of clam juice, and 6 slices crispy bacon chopped, THEN just follow the rest of the recipe. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! Put this all together and it's 5 STARS!!! Thanks to you and the Soupman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Amazing! A few changes - We love clams so I used 52 oz. can of chopped clams. I also used italian style stewed tomatoes instead of regular diced. I added more celery. I also added a tablespoon and a half of thyme. This will be made in my kitchen ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I really loved this recipe. However, I did a couple of things differently. In the pan, from the very start, I put in six pieces of bacon and fried them up. I drained off the grease and threw in the tomatoes, etc. Everything had a nice smoky, bacony flavor after that. I also par cooked the carrots before dropping them in. I also used Better than Bouillon clam stock--very, very good. Doubled the clams, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
As written, I give this four stars. I felt it needed more seasonings so I ended up adding a bay leaf, thyme, and minced garlic. I added the clams at the very end and only heated them through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
fantastic,flavorful. forget those creamy clam chowders,this is one you can eat day in and day out and is also healthy .excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a 52 oz can of clams, added a can of fish stock and a can of chicken stock plus about 4 stalks of celery and a diced onion. I also added tyme which was suggested by another reviewer and used fiery roasted diced tomatoes. It tasted great! I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriss925

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe was great after I made some edits. I used twice as much clams, using defrosted frozen baby clam meat. I replaced the crushed tomato with tomato sauce and the diced tomato with stewed, and threw in more celery and used no potatoes (since I dislike them). I also had no onion powder so I just chopped up two green onions, and replaced the herbs with the same amount of Italian seasoning. I feel like I should have added a little bit of garlic as well. But this is truly a delicious low-fat, high-protein recipe with lots of omega-3s and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent!! Made 1/2 the recipe and used 1 less potato, used a lot more celery, and diced & crushed my own tomatoes in equivalent to the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States