Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
fantastic,flavorful. forget those creamy clam chowders,this is one you can eat day in and day out and is also healthy .excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
4 stars once I doctored it up a bit. When made according to the directions, I found it much too tomato-y. It also needed lots more clams. To adjust the recipe, I used a Costco-sized 52-oz. can of clams w/juice and added a 14-oz. can of chicken broth and 1/2 to 1 cup water. I also used 4 stalks celery. It makes a huge batch--nearly 8 quarts. To make half use 8 cans (6.5 oz) of clams. Halie is right--it's better the next day. But it's pretty darn good the first day too! We just love it with good bread and a big salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I agree with RCKim ... WAY too tomatoey. I followed her advice and added 1 can of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I also added tons more celery and used fresh onion instead of onion powder. After a little fiddling with it turns out to be a super soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I agree with others - way too tomatoee. My hubby used only half of the tomatoes, added shrimp stock, and more celery. For those who love tomatoes, this soup is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Everyone enjoyed it.The next time I make it I wont use as many cans of tomatoes that it calls for I felt there was an over bearing taste of tomatoes.I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent!! Made 1/2 the recipe and used 1 less potato, used a lot more celery, and diced & crushed my own tomatoes in equivalent to the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I really loved this recipe. However, I did a couple of things differently. In the pan, from the very start, I put in six pieces of bacon and fried them up. I drained off the grease and threw in the tomatoes, etc. Everything had a nice smoky, bacony flavor after that. I also par cooked the carrots before dropping them in. I also used Better than Bouillon clam stock--very, very good. Doubled the clams, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This soup recipe was a better "start" than all the others I found. I like my soups thick, chunky, and manly, so ofcourse I added a few things. For starters I used a giant 52 ounce "costco" can of chopped clams (that will reduce that "strong tomato" taste people are talking about). I also used italian style stewed tomatoes instead of regular diced. I added more celery. I also added a tablespoon and a half of thyme (that is important in manhattan style chowder) I added 1/3 cup sauvignon blanc wine and 6 strips of Bacon done crisp(soaked up all fat)I also through in a couple ounces of clam juice. When I was doen I had a soup that absolutly knocked the socks off every one that tried it. I followed all other directions as stated. This soup was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
WAY TO MUCH TOMATO. I EVEN ADDED EXTRA CLAMS AND 2 BOTTLES OF CLAM JUICE JUST COULDNT GET THE TOMATO TASTE TO GO AWAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I followed the recommendatiions of "Soupman" and it turned out PHENOMENAL!!! This recipe actually surpasses restaurant quality and remains healthy...HERE"S WHAT TO DO: 52 oz minced clams in juice and one extra smaller (4-6 oz) can for good measure, Italian petite diced tomatoes, Sauvignon Blanc(1/2 cup or so...), plenty of fresh thyme, a few pours of clam juice, and 6 slices crispy bacon chopped, THEN just follow the rest of the recipe. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! Put this all together and it's 5 STARS!!! Thanks to you and the Soupman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States