Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made this and it was excellent, but several changes were made I used 39 oz of minced clams, and only 3 small potatoes, 1 can of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, and a pinch of dried jalapeno peppers. It was still a little tomatoey but had a wonderful taste. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe was great after I made some edits. I used twice as much clams, using defrosted frozen baby clam meat. I replaced the crushed tomato with tomato sauce and the diced tomato with stewed, and threw in more celery and used no potatoes (since I dislike them). I also had no onion powder so I just chopped up two green onions, and replaced the herbs with the same amount of Italian seasoning. I feel like I should have added a little bit of garlic as well. But this is truly a delicious low-fat, high-protein recipe with lots of omega-3s and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
As written, I give this four stars. I felt it needed more seasonings so I ended up adding a bay leaf, thyme, and minced garlic. I added the clams at the very end and only heated them through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is a HUGE fan of Manhattan Clam Chowder, this made his day! This recipe is much better than Emeril's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I just didn't care for this soup. I halved the recipe and used less tomato as suggested. I also like spices so I added thyme and garlic. I don't think extra clams could have saved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I added more ingredients like onion, parsley, thyme, italian seasoning, canned corn and peas but I still found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
MARIA I AGREE WITH YOU TOO MUCH TOMATO AND NOT ENOUGH CLAMS . FROM WILKES-BARRE PA. STILL I ENJOYED THE SOUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
As a base recipe, this was good. However, I added more clams, and it was way too tomatoey. I'm not sure this is the best recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a 52 oz can of clams, added a can of fish stock and a can of chicken stock plus about 4 stalks of celery and a diced onion. I also added tyme which was suggested by another reviewer and used fiery roasted diced tomatoes. It tasted great! I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriss925

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was fabulous, made it for New Years Eve. I used more clams, and put in thyme as suggested below. I had some shrimp and scallops that I needed to use so threw those in too. Guess I really had Manhattan Seafood Chowder. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States