Manhattan Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe for years. However I use oregano instead of parsley and Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce. For the preserves I found it is best to use 1 jar apricot & 1 jar Peach preserves w your BBQ sauce. Put in Crock pot. I spice my sauce up with Peach schnapps (alcohol does cook out. But gives a good flavor). Bake the meat balls on a cook sheet in the oven. 350 degrees for 15 min turn & bake another 10-15 min. Until cooked. Place in your crockpot w sauce. Let simmer. I have found that making a day ahead melds the flavors and is much better the next day. However if your house hold is like mine, nothing would be left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made the sauce only and served it over store-bought meatballs. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! Super easy if you use frozen meatballs like I did :) I baked the meatballs and cooked the sauce in a saucepan while they baked. Then I set the meatballs on paper towels to get rid of a little grease. I put everything in the crockpot on warm and served at our holiday potluck tonight. They were a big hit! The apricot-pineapple preserves were what I used. I used 2 jars of the preserves, one small bottle of bbq sauce and about 3.5 lbs of meatballs. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugal-Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe twice in the last two weeks. The sauce is EXCELLENT! Double the recipe as it doesn't make nearly enough. I'll be reducing the bread crumbs by 1/4 to 1/2 cup next time as the meatballs didn't turn out "meaty" enough; the texture made me think it tasted as though the ingredients were blended into paste. I found that apricot-pineapple preserves were better liked by all over the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was very good, gave the meatballs a nice flavor. I used dry parsley instead since I don't keep any fresh & I used pineapple juice instead of preserves since I didn't have any of that either. I'm sure the preserves would have been better & made it a bit thicker & sweet...but oh well this was good either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
very bland unless you plan on not eating them right away and let them marinate for several hours before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I made large meatballs and made a meal out of it with rice and a side veggie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Made them for dinner they were very good. Lansing them for co-workers tomorrow..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peay Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this dish is amazing! i've made it more times then i can count & it's always delicious & a big hit. the only difference i make is that instead of pineapple preserves, i use crushed pineapple from a can. same taste, but juicer! it's super easy to cut in half too. amazing dish! would recommend to anyone (: thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Fabulous! I think this would work better in a slow cooker but otherwise, the glaze itself is addictive. I used pineapple preserves and Baby Ray's. It's my nature to tweak recipes but I left this one alone except for the cooking method and we loved it. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States