Manhattan Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I hesitate to review, since I substituted crushed, canned pineapple- the preserves are very expensive and rare here. (I don't always like reviews where they have changed everything so much you can't recognize it) However, the meatballs turned out great, with a good flavor. Slightly less sugar this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These were a hit at our family dinner on Christmas night. The crowd was huddled around them, and I could hear the words "awesome," "delicious," and "wonderful." Will definitely make them again for the next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were a huge hit and the first appetizer gone at a Christmas party I went to this year. The only thing I did different was use apricot preserves because I couldn't find the pineapple at my grocery store...oh, and I added some brown sugar to the sauce! Will definetley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I've been making these for years and everyone loves them. I use two jars of pineapple preserves and throw them into the crockpot for parties! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I mixed 1 lb of lean beef with 1 lb of sweet italian sausage (and the other ingredient in the recipe). I browned the meatballs in a skillet and then cooked them on high for 2 hours in the crockpot with the sauces. I was unable to find pineapple preserves so I used 8 oz of duck sauce and 8 oz of sweet and sour and mixed that with a bottle of KC Sweet homestyle bbq sauce. These are excellent on rice and the next day I bought sub rolls and had meatball subs with cheese and ranch dressing. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I crunched up a bunch of seasoned toast to make the breadcrumbs, used a honey BBQ Sauce, and omitted the pineapple. I'm not allowed to go to parties without these anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WCCLARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I tried this recipe 3 weeks ago and I am making it again tonight. I dont want to burn my family out, but this is one of those things you just have to make over and over. I used apricot/pineapple preserves because I could not find Pineapple preserves solo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominique Stokes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These were a huge hit at my birthday gathering! Not one of the quadrupled recipe was left. I followed almost as directed but pineapple preserves are expensive in my parts. So I added just a small amount of brown sugar & about a tsp. of pineapple juice to make up for some more sweet. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Muri, Bern, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These were pretty yummy. I made them and cooked them in the oven for 25 minutes on cookie sheets. Then I added them to a slow cooker with the preserves and bbq sauce on low for 2 hours. They turned out great. Next time I might add about 3/4ths of a cup of water so the sauce isn't so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States