Manhattan Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe, but I modified it slightly because I thought it was too bland at first (I tasted it after it came to a boil). I cooked 4 slices of bacon (as per another reviewer suggestion), and then I sauteed the onion, green pepper, and a bit of garlic in the grease. I did everything else according to the recipe, only I added a bit of Worcestershire (maybe 2 tsp.), about 1/4 cup sherry, garlic powder, onion powder, and chili powder (all to taste). My husband and I couldn't get enough. I still gave the recipe a 5 because it really is so simple, and the base is still good but easily modified to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This is similar to my old Pa's recipe, but he always started with frying 4 slices of bacon until crisp, crumble & reserve the bacon, use the bacon grease to fry the onion & peppers, then proceed as the recipe states. Like another reviewer, Pop used clam juice (or started by boiling the clam shells to make the broth)too, rather than water. (I have recently found clam base, which is very effective. Adjust salt if you use this.) He also added 2 well rounded TBSP of paprika - add the crumbled bacon to the soup at the end. This chowder blew out at his restaurant - you'll see why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I generally prefer Boston clam chowder but since I didn't have many of the ingredients I opted for this one and BOY, am I glad I did! I followed previous reviewer with the bacon idea but about half the paprika. Also since the only suitable bread I had was a couple days past its best, I turned it into croutons, frying in the same bacon grease. I only had canned clams and yellow rather than green pepper and only a little green onions so I added regular onions. This was a HUGE HIT with my husband. He raved and raved about it. Thanks a million for the ideas and input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made this recipe to feed a few friends when I was married. Several months after we were divorced, my ex-husb called me to ask me to make this, freeze it, pack it in dry ice and ship it overnight to him! I've tweaked to my taste over the last few years by adding more onions, using diced new potatoes, canned clams and extra hot sauce! It's one of my signature dishes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I used a bag of mixed seafood in addition to the clams. Put in 2 stalks sliced celery and 2 sliced carrots in place of the bell pepper. Also used fresh chopped parsley and 2 tablespoons of " Old Bay" seasoning to spice it up a bit.This recipe was so easy to make and came out great. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
This chowder has real character. Using bottled clam juice instead of water will enhance the clam flavor slightly. I prefer "sopping" with warm French bread instead of chowder crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
The delicious and easy way of making Manhattan clam chowder. This is very tasty! I usually end up using freshly shucked clams, and adding in a half bottle of clam juice. The end result has turned out great every time. Thanks for sharing, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Cookin' Care!
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
My first attempt at making Clam Chowder. I think it could be a bit thicker. I basically doubled the entire recipe..used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatos, more potatos, and i took the advice of the chili pepper seasoning and the bacon. Serve with some oyster crackers or saltines. Really great way to use up the clams before they go bad and have lots to share with your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Care!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is a great base for a very good manhattan chowder. With the addition of other reviewers revisions it is great! I used three reviewers suggestions combined. Added celery, garlic, yellow onion, worscestershire, sherry, paprika and old bay seasoning. Also used clam juice instead of water. Also used the bacon suggestion sautéed all vegetables except tomatoes in bacon grease. Added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
***A TIP*** If you are lucky enough to have fresh clams or better yet Quahogs, for this recipe, try freezing the clams before using them. They will open once they are frozen. Just remember to thaw them over a container so you do not lose any of the juice...happy eating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States