Manhattan Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I took the advice of the other reviewers and used the garlic and Worcestershire sauce. With this change, I liked the soup but didn't love it. I feel like it still needed something. Not sure if I'll ever made it again, my husband strongly disliked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I like this recipe. I added celery and let potatoes out due to diet restriction. My husband and I enjoyed it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
We loved it, the only change we made was using less thyme. We also used clams we dug ourselves, from the Great South bay on Long Island.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe was just OK. I was too tomatoey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I love Manhattan Chowder but this recipe was not my favorite for two reasons: it was fairly bland/boring (but still turned out good); it took WAY longer to soften the potatoes (I should've cut them smaller), though I cut them to a "chowder size" I thought. I also added tobasco and squeezed some lime which made it pretty good. I may or may not make this again but will keep it on hand for a back-up meal when I don't feel like or have the time to do a lot of cooking/preparation.... I may try it again with some of the suggestions from the other reviews. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This recipe was great. I love easy delicious recipes and this is it. The only thing I changed was I used scallions instead of the onions. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I'm from RI and I finally found a wonderful Chowda recipe. I loved it so much I'm buying the ingredients for my 3 sons along with an immersing blender as a Christmas gift.. This recipe is super. I will continue to buy the Bar Harbor minced clams along with their clam juice. That was also top notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great base recipe for traditional clam chowder and only minor changes needed to give it a little more umph! Used chicken broth in place of water, sauteed veggies first in small amount of olive oil to soften, added finely diced celery, celery leaves from one stalk, and a bay leaf, plus a few dashes of ground cayenne. Added fresh chopped parsley at end with clams just before serving. Too salty as written - will reduce salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I love this clam chowder. I added things other people siad in there reviews; celery, worchestershire sauce.. but i also add fresh bacon. cut up, cooked and made into bits!! super fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States