Mangu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Oh yes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Maribel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
My husband who doesn't care for fried plantains loved this and so did I, although I made it without the pepper as I did not have one. Is the pepper put in raw?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love mangu, I am dominican and this is something that I introduced to my american wife and now she loves it. However, here is a slight twist to the recipe above: I use canola oil instead of olive oil to sautee the onions, and once they are done I add a tablespoon or two of white vinegar to the oil/onion mixture to add on top of the mangu. The plantains of course have to be as green as possible. Pair it with fried cheese (special type) and eggs...yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Very different. I thought maybe adding red or green peppers might add a little more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I wasn't too sure about this recipe because it seemed confusing. For example, do I buy the yellow or green plantains and what are Anaheim peppers? I bought the yellow (that was all the store had) and put in a quarter cup of extra spicey habanera sauce. I know it's usually eaten in the morning, but we ate it as a side dish/mashed potato substitute and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mildred López
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Peppers... I am Dominican and this is the first time I hear of adding pepper to Mangu... I think the rest of the recipe is pretty accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Traditional breakfast...but never had it with peppers. Add a little of fried cheese, mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I love, love mangu. My mom is Dominican and she makes great mangu. However, she has always put garlic in it. To mash the plaintains I sautee the garlic in olive oil being careful to not burn the garlic. Then, pour mixture over plaintains and mash. Also, I like peeling the plaintains before boiling them. If I don't peel them then, I DON'T use the water to mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I wish the recipe could be altered to include the color of the plantain you should buy - it should be a green plantain because it is most starchy then, and works best in mangu. a yellow plantain is sweet, and you'd probably have to add much spice to alter the sweet taste. Ive never seen the pepper added within the plantain, but theres a first time for everything. Sometimes on top of mangu goes ‘Escabeche’- it is an onion/pepper gravy made with vinegar and oil. In the west indies there is a similar gravy (onion, peppers, pimento seed, ginger) they put on top of fish ans it is called escovitch, it is the same kind of delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxyou6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used Pam instead of Olive Oil, and after the onions were translucent I added the Anaheim Chilis to soften them. The mixture was way too thick for me to puree it in my tiny food processor so I added triple the amount of water and a cup of unsweetened apple sauce because that's what I had in the pantry. Turned out delicious. The next morning I cooked it into a potato pancake shape - it was sweet, spicy, and really filling (not to mention, healthy)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Pfeiffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States