Mango-licious Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
this was exceptional! I added pineapple to the mango salsa mix and used powdered ginger that I had laying around. I also just used half a can of diced tomatoes rather than cutting up roma tomatoes. The presentation was virtually identical to the picture but I laid down a bed of fluffy instant rice, then a layer of mango salsa, then th e tilapia, then a topping of mango salsa with avocados and steamed broccoli rounding up the corners. A mango margarita makes a perfect accompaniment. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erich Cervantez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I love this recipe. I only gave it 4 stars because I think the fish is better if it marinades for at least an hour and I also like to give it an additional spritz of fresh orange right before serving. The salsa is wonderful and would be good on anything. I purchased frozen mango chunks when I made this recipe the second time, it saved me a lot of time. When I have leftover salsa I like to add a can of drained and rinsed black beans and take that as my lunch. Overall excellent recipe, I will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Wonderful dish! my kids loved it and they usually won't eat fish. i added a little bit of honey to the salsa. a little bit of sweet to off-set the heat from the pepper. Definately will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Fabulous taste! My one quibble: if using all fresh ingredients, all the chopping, mincing and dicing makes the prep time far longer than 10 minutes. Otherwise, this recipe is darn near perfect. My adjustments: We prefer cod to tilapia. I did NOT peel the tomatoes, and I added an extra pinch of salt to the salsa. Served with toasted couscous and a green salad, this was beyond delicious. And it's a beautiful dish. We'll definitely have this again. In fact, this salsa recipe has just become my party salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have made this recipe maybe 5-6 times so far and love it every time. I have small children so I leave out the jalapeno and red pepper. We usually use the fish and salsa as a filling for fish tacos/fajitas and my husband adds heat to his liking. I do use only about 1/3 cup red onion in the salsa and as much cilantro as I feel like chopping - usually less than called for. And I have tried all kinds of tomatoes and even simple dried, ground ginger. As expected, the flavor varies with the ingredients, but it's always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I have to admit that I don't like fish, but I keep trying. However, I was really looking forward to the salsa, so I was disappointed that I ended up throwing most of it away. It had too much avacado, WAY too much salt, and the mango got lost. My husband did love the tilapia and ate all four fillets, so I gave this recipe two stars anyway. This was also a lot of work with all the chopping and prep. And not an inexpensive dish either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very delicious and satisfying. I pan seared my Tilapia and served it with the mango salsa on top. I also added extra avocado per my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Wow, this is fantastic! I like to make fish for my lunch (I work from home) and the rest of my family aren't big fish eaters. I didn't have any orange juice so I gave the fish a few splashes of fresh lime. I also didn't have an onion, so I used a bit of cucumber & red bell pepper. Delish & healthy. I have enough of the salsa left so I'll make it again tomorrow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
An excellent way to serve a mild fish. I have used a simular chutney for years - it is also very good on poultry or as a dip for bagle chips. I didn't have an orange on hand so used a TX Rio Star grapefruit for the zest and juice, and was very pleased with the results. Will definately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Outstanding! Original, light and easy. I'll make this often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States