Mango-licious Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jay
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I will say I was slightly skeptical when making this dish but as I began I realized it was practically fool proof! Unfortunately I didn't get to experience the dish in its entirety seeing how my boyfriend doesn't like avocados & some other ingredients so I made due with what was left & improvised. It still came out amazing however! Down to the beautiful colorful presentation, and the exasperating aroma I will surely be making this again. Five stars for a recipe of simplicity with big flavor! (I.e. One tip, definitely only use two peppers, it's more than enough, marinade fish for @ least an hour if you can & I incorporated pineapples into my salsa as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was fantastic! I omitted the Red Onion, Jalapeno, and ginger root (wife has sensitive stomach and store was out of ginger root) and the dish was fantastic. Fish would have been just fine with the orange zest/juice and red pepper, but the mango salsa was a great touch. We had it with roasted garlic mashed potatoes and corn on the cob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I didn't care for this at all. Can't figure out what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
love the salsa!! delicious dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was very good! I left out the salt, added a diced red bell pepper and about a clove of minced garlic and used a bit less of the mango and red onion. I prepared the salsa early in the day so the flavors had a chance to blend, adding the diced avocado about 30 minutes before serving. Marinated the Tilapia for a couple of hours in the OJ and Zest. Served with Refried Beans, Sweet Corn Cake and some rice I had leftover from the night before. Family truly enjoyed, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe! No one in my house likes jalapeno, so I left that out. There was a bright flavor and the fish was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calhan, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This recipe was great. Although, I was quite upset after the delicious ripe avocado I used turned super sour after making the Salsa. It may only be me, but I would suggest to others to watch the amount of lime juice you add as it can hurt the avocado. Again, great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I love fish - especially tilapia - but I have to say, I've had better tilapia. I let the fish marinate in the orange juice concoction for about 20 minutes and still, the fish by itself didn't have much flavor. The salsa on the other hand - oh my! AMAZING. I'll definitely be making it again and again and serve it with everything. I served the tilapia over brown basmati rice (and discovered that we don't like basmati rice!) and covered it with the salsa. I enjoyed it - can't say I loved it. Next time, I'll probably do the salsa with chicken and regular white rice and see how that goes! Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
One of the best recipes on this site! I made it with rockfish (caught by my boyfriend) and it was out of this world. I recommend adding an extra mango to the salsa. One of the best meals I've ever made. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Did not like at all. Orange zest on the fish tasted awful. Fish was bland unless you eat with the salsa. Did not like the avocado in salsa - made it too mushy. The salsa was fresh but seemed to be missing something. Too much onion. I would make the salsa again, with some changes, but not the fish. I would add cucumber to salsa, delete the avocado and add more lime and some sweetener like brown sugar. The tomatoes were a toss up. They didn't seem to add anything other than color to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States