Mango Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This recipe is especially great with dried mangoes from the Philippines! For people watching their weight, they can cut down on the butter and sugar by around 3/4 to 1/2 of the stated amount in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
These were not good at all, couldn't even taste the mango at all, therefore way too sweet. Horrible brown colour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Good recipe! It's a bit too sweet and doesn't really taste like mango, but it is yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Couldn't find a dessert recipe using fresh mangos. I had two mangos that were starting to get overripe so I took a chance and used them in this recipe instead of the dried mango. The bars were actually quite good but not very mango-y like I was hoping. If I make this again I'll try a stronger-tasting fruit...strawberry, pineapple, kiwi? I liked the extra gooeyness from the fresh fruit even though it took longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irelandwhispers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Two Christmases ago my boss' daughter made these and I began to search recipes for it, alas, I found this and made a batch last night. My husband stuffed himself with several squares and saved some to take to work to boast with his co-workers! He's asking me to make some more! This is best recipe to make in the Philippines where we have tons of inexpensive dried mangoes there, and I like the way it doesn't give away the taste of mango, instead it tastes like a combination of different fruits and is chewy and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I dont care for mangoes but this was addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I just happen to have all of the ingredients at home and wanted to use out some dried mango that I had so I thought this would be the perfect way. The bottom part was more like batter and didn't bake so well and the filling part is just ok. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I had just enough left in a bag of dried mango and cherries to make this recipe, so I left the cherries in. This baked up into a flavorful bar cookie, but if you’re really looking for mango flavor, it's not here. Still very buttery, moist, fruity, and just pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this recipe, without the lemon extract (not avail in Mexico). I used 3 fresh(1 1/2 cups)"Manilla" mangos. Took 1 hour to bake but turned out great. Rich, buttery andl great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States