Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Thanks for posting, Marylandgirl. Now before I try the recipe, I need to know how many cups of mango I need. Where I live they vary in size quite a bit, so "4" will not help a whole lot! After reading the reviews I'm anxious to try it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Awesome! I used frozen pre-chopped and peeled mango - easier and quicker. For the simple syrup I used white corn syrup, 3/4 cup. Perfect texture and taste my guests were very impressed! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ween's Cuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Sooo easy and really smooth and delicious! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I saw a comment on here about how to make ice cream without the ice cream maker and since I have the exact same problem, I found this on the internet: Make sure you have a bowl that’s quite wide to use for the churning/freezing process that comes next. Take your ice cream recipe mixture and carefully pour it into the bowl, then chill in the fridge for up to 2 hours, checking on it after 1 hour. The reason it can take longer than an hour is when a recipe mixture has had cooked ingredients added, therefore thorough chilling will take longer. Take the bowl out of the fridge and transfer to the freezer for about half an hour. Then check just how much the mixture has frozen - ideally, it should have started to freeze at the edges but not fully through to the centre. Take the bowl out of the freezer and beat the ice cream mixture until it’s creamy once again (to dislodge and break up the ice crystals that have formed). Put it back in the freezer for another half hour, then remove and once again beat with a whisk. Do this again so that you have beaten the mixture a total of 3 times whilst freezing in between. Put the mixture back into the freezer for a final time until it’s ready to eat. This can take anything from 30 minutes upwards, depending upon the quantity and type of ice cream you’re making and also how you like the consistency of your ice cream (some people like it softer, some harder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very refreshing! This came out very, very smooth and creamy. It was not icy at all. I think that was in part to cutting only where the mango was easy to cut. I did not try to get as much as I could from the stringier section by the core. Also, I processed it a LOT. I added 3-4 tbs of whole milk (was out of cream) and 2 tbs of triple sec. This was delicious. I would make again. I think I would even add a tad more milk/cream. Also I would love to try other flavors. I did use an ice cream machine. Truly cool and refreshing. What I especially like is that it is all natural. I know what's in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is very easy to make and a very tasty frozen mango treat. I accidentally left out one of the mangoes, and it still tasted great. To flair it up, I added sliced fresh strawberries with each serving and it really kicked it up a notch. Fresh blueberries, or even grated fresh (emphasize fresh) coconut would be excellent with this. Very cool and refreshing and would be good on a hot summer day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this recipe for its elegant simplicity and potential versatility. Every once in awhile I see one of those Italian ice cream makers in Goodwill and finally decided to invest $35 in one that appeared never to have been used. As much as I love mangoes, I hate prepping them and also finding four or five dead ripe fruit at the same time. I recently tried this with canned mandarin oranges. I included the light syrup of one can and drained it off the another two. It was great! I like to serve it topped with freshly grated nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was good. I halved the recipe (I only had 2 mangoes, and they were cut up & ready for something). I also changed the configuration of sugar for the simple syrup. I used about 2/3 sugar and 1/3 Splenda. (Next time I'll try half of each.) It was very good, really refreshing for summer. My only complaint, and it isn't the fault of the recipe, is the stringiness of the mangoes. Some bites were so stringy, and somehow in the freezing process, they lose their juice, so we ended up with clumps of flavorless string stuff in our mouths. It only happened a few times, but I'm going to have to figure out how to fix that. I maybe just need to puree longer than I did. The flavor and simplicity of the recipe, though, get an A from me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Hmm. I liked this. But I don't have an ice cream maker, so perhaps that is my problem. It kind of just tasted like sweetened frozen mango. LOL. Bf didn't like it but I was ok with it. Maybe kinda like a fruit bar . . .I don't know. I'll have to experiment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very tasty! Easy preparation but a bit too sweet. Will definitely use less simple syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States