Mango Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very yummy, but the flavor of the mangoes is almost lost. The only real indication is that they were the tiniest bit more tangy than apples. Next time, I'll save money and substitute apples for the mangoes. The shortbread is delicious! Be careful about reserving part of the crumb mixture and not mixing it all in with the mangoes. I halved the recipe w/o problems, but make sure to shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Easy and yummy! My family loves the mango fruit so I always pick some up at the store. I'm never sure of what to do with it though besides slice it up and serve it with ice cream or something. Then I found this recipe, and my family requests this for dessert once a week at least. NOTE: I usually do half just like the recipe calls for and the other half with strawberries and blueberries instead of mango (same spices though). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Though I am a health-conscious eater, this is an amazing recipe. The shortbread bars are just so delicious and scrumptious. The 60 minute baking time is perfect for that slight golden brown crisp. However, I used only 3.5 cups of mango (they were a little stringy but turned out great), only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and no nutmeg (I felt it was unnecessary because the cinnamon already spices the mango up). The most difficult part was slicing the mangoes. It took me about 1 hour to slice 4 medium-large mangoes, and it was a really big mess. I sliced them pretty thin, about 2-3 inches long and 0.5 inch wide. I was not familiar with baking shortbreads, so while I mixed the flour, butter, and sugar together I thought the mixture was too dry and began to panic.. but turns out it was supposed to be crumbly and crispy. Make sure you firmly press the flour mixture on the pan, and then evenly spread the mango mixture, then just use your hands and make the flour mixture into crumbs and sprinkle it on top of the mango. Press down lightly. Next time, I will try to substitute the butter for something else, possibly half olive oil and half butter. Also, because this shortbread reminds me of pie, on Thanksgiving or Christmas I will try substituting the mango for pumpkin and bake it in a round dish, see how that turns out :) I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are great! I did halve the recipe because I didn't have as many mango as it called for. I also diced the mango instead of slicing. The shortbread was very good, and could even stand alone I believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
DELICIOUS! So simple and perfectly sweet, definitely an item that goes well with tea. I used a pan that was a bit smaller, and should have cooked it for another good 5 minutes but regardless it tasted FINE. This is a great recipe to substitute the mangos for just about anything (apples or peaches), yet the mangos give a good seasonal twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
These are defietley tastey and easy to make. I like the spice combination and would recommend using both magos and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is a good way to use leftover mangos or any other ripe fruit. We bought six mangos at Costco that were about to go bad, which is why I made these bars. They were very easy to make and simple. One caveat: I think this is more a fall/winter recipe; the shortbread is quite heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Tried the recipe again today. Turned out even better than the first time. I used half of the recipe, like others did, and cut the time shorter by some twenty minutes. Definitely a delicious recipe. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mombasa, Coast, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzibear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband thought it tasted like apple cobbler.. but we both LOVED it! I could taste the mango in the thicker slices and they went so well with the cinnamon and nutmeg spices. I'm really happy with this recipe and how it turned out that I'm emailing this link to all of my friends. The only thing I changed was the cook time. I had to pull it out after 50mins to avoid burned edges and covered the edges with foil half way through as I saw the edges darkening quickly. I baked it in a glass dish so I dont know if that had something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and drizzled the top with honey instead. I also made a side crust and made the dish more of a shortbread tart than bars. Make sure to spread the shortbread out somewhat thinner than you would imagine correct, as it can easily get thick after baking. The flavor was good. The riper the mango the better. Would be great warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States