Mango Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
easy to make but because of the nutmeg and cinnamon used on the mangoes, it tastes more like apple bars. I think next time I would omit the 2 ingredients mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My husband absolutly loved them! However I cut out the Nutmeg, and used Spelt flour instead of white flour-eek! ANd maple syrup instead of sugar. They were delicious and a little healthier and much tastier than origonal recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzibear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband thought it tasted like apple cobbler.. but we both LOVED it! I could taste the mango in the thicker slices and they went so well with the cinnamon and nutmeg spices. I'm really happy with this recipe and how it turned out that I'm emailing this link to all of my friends. The only thing I changed was the cook time. I had to pull it out after 50mins to avoid burned edges and covered the edges with foil half way through as I saw the edges darkening quickly. I baked it in a glass dish so I dont know if that had something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is very much like a mango cobbler except softer crust. I like it ok, but I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg since most reviewers said it made it taste like apple cobbler. This is very easy to cut into bars, and I used 3 different kinds of mangoes. The sweeter,riper ones came out muuuuuch better than the more tart one. If you have tart mangoes, you can add honey instead of white sugar. Again, it was ok tasting, and I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Wow! Very rich, wonderful taste. Gave some to my neighbor and she immediately wanted the recipe, as did her daughter. My only change was to substitute whole wheat flour for one of the three cups of all purpose, and I used cardamom instead of cinnamon. Slicing fresh mango is a messy affair (I used 3 large ones), so next time I may use canned mango (find it at an asian food mkt. or in the ethnic aisle at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very yummy, but the flavor of the mangoes is almost lost. The only real indication is that they were the tiniest bit more tangy than apples. Next time, I'll save money and substitute apples for the mangoes. The shortbread is delicious! Be careful about reserving part of the crumb mixture and not mixing it all in with the mangoes. I halved the recipe w/o problems, but make sure to shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Though I am a health-conscious eater, this is an amazing recipe. The shortbread bars are just so delicious and scrumptious. The 60 minute baking time is perfect for that slight golden brown crisp. However, I used only 3.5 cups of mango (they were a little stringy but turned out great), only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and no nutmeg (I felt it was unnecessary because the cinnamon already spices the mango up). The most difficult part was slicing the mangoes. It took me about 1 hour to slice 4 medium-large mangoes, and it was a really big mess. I sliced them pretty thin, about 2-3 inches long and 0.5 inch wide. I was not familiar with baking shortbreads, so while I mixed the flour, butter, and sugar together I thought the mixture was too dry and began to panic.. but turns out it was supposed to be crumbly and crispy. Make sure you firmly press the flour mixture on the pan, and then evenly spread the mango mixture, then just use your hands and make the flour mixture into crumbs and sprinkle it on top of the mango. Press down lightly. Next time, I will try to substitute the butter for something else, possibly half olive oil and half butter. Also, because this shortbread reminds me of pie, on Thanksgiving or Christmas I will try substituting the mango for pumpkin and bake it in a round dish, see how that turns out :) I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The mango is very mild in this recipe. I think that is the nature of Mango when you cook it. The shortbread is moist as opposed to the dry shortbread. I had never had moist shortbread before. this was good but not delicious. However, my mother-in-law loved it because she loves shortbread. I had a hard time getting the shortbread mixture on top of the mango. can't really spread it. I just dropped it on and spread it as best I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and drizzled the top with honey instead. I also made a side crust and made the dish more of a shortbread tart than bars. Make sure to spread the shortbread out somewhat thinner than you would imagine correct, as it can easily get thick after baking. The flavor was good. The riper the mango the better. Would be great warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Absolutely the tastiest things I've ever had that didn't come out of a bakery or a cafe! :9 I loved them, my boyfriend loved them, and so did our friends! Especially good with vanilla ice cream. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States