Mango Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe was AMAZING!! I loved the sweet taste of the mangoes mixed with the cinnamon!! i made this recipe right before i went to bed and when i got up the next morning it was all gone!! my sister gave out the recipe to all her friends and my anti-fruit dad loved it!!! I will definitely make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Rave reviews from the family! I didn't use any of the spices,e but I really hate cinnamon. It would be nice to mix in some brown sugar with the mangos next time. Also, you really need to make sure that the mangos you use do not have aren't stringy inside. Carry mangos are the best. Make sure you cut the mangos over a bowl to preserve the juice for the recipe and avoid a big mess. For the real sweet tooth, add more sugar. Overall, a nice change from the ordinary and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I made this and used the suggestion of having only one mango. Someone that doesn't like mangos that much enjoyed this. I have requests to make it again. I also thought about using Peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I only had one mango, so I haved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 inch dish for 30 minutes. It's very good. I love the combo of spices on the mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
A really easy recipe that presents itself as being complex. I brought it to my office and got rave reviews. I personally think it could be more buttery flavored, but I used a margerine type butter. Next time I will certainly use the real thing. I also think peaches or nectarines would be two good fruits to try it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Aloha, This is an absolutely wonderful, scruptious, easy - just plain yum. I bought fresh Mangos at our local farmers market whipped it up last night. No need to change anything about the recipe. My family loved it, the guys at work went crazy over it! This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Wow! Very rich, wonderful taste. Gave some to my neighbor and she immediately wanted the recipe, as did her daughter. My only change was to substitute whole wheat flour for one of the three cups of all purpose, and I used cardamom instead of cinnamon. Slicing fresh mango is a messy affair (I used 3 large ones), so next time I may use canned mango (find it at an asian food mkt. or in the ethnic aisle at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Absolutely the tastiest things I've ever had that didn't come out of a bakery or a cafe! :9 I loved them, my boyfriend loved them, and so did our friends! Especially good with vanilla ice cream. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My husband absolutly loved them! However I cut out the Nutmeg, and used Spelt flour instead of white flour-eek! ANd maple syrup instead of sugar. They were delicious and a little healthier and much tastier than origonal recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
easy to make but because of the nutmeg and cinnamon used on the mangoes, it tastes more like apple bars. I think next time I would omit the 2 ingredients mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States