Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
i made this for the first time and put it over grilled cajun tuna steaks. it was fabulous. i used half the ginger because my friend doesn't like ginger and he didn't even taste it! i could taste it and it added a nice kick. i only had 5 canned pineapple chunks, which i diced, and it was enough by my taste. the mango provided enough sweetness. i put the ginger, red onion and cilantro in a mini food processor which provided the perfect mince. i probably only used 1/4 t red pepper flakes (i don't measure) and it was plenty spicy. glad i didn't put a whole teaspoon in. the final modification was 2 T apple cider vinegar because i didn't have rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
excellent!! and so inexpensive when mangos and pineapple are in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great flavor! I used the juice of 1 fresh lime instead of the vinegar. I didn't use the pineapple tidbits, didn't need it. Used two very ripe mangos and one that was just a bit firm and tangy. So tasty! I've got a lot of fresh coconut and will probably ad some, but it is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I'm on the fence with this one... it was very different but not great. The mangos I used were ripe but just barely, and they equaled three cups. Also, I served this with chips, but I believe that this would go better as a side with a fish or pork dish. The chips did absolutely nothing for it. If I try this again as a side with fish or pork, the mangos will be very ripe, and I'll cut this recipe in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gorobaroof
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've never made any other mango salsa before, but this one was so good! I only rated 4/5 because I think the full 2 tablespoons of ginger would have ruined it. I added about 1 heaping tsp grated fresh ginger, not finely diced. Ginger can be very overpowering and I don't think I would want to bite into a chunk of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent recipe... Fresh ingredients with great flavors is the key to making this salsa. It has a good taste when made, but melds into a different level of flavor after a night in the frig. The bright citric flavors are a good match with grilled chicken, pork, or fish matched up with a semi-dry chardonnay. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STYLISHMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe is very addictive. It is the perfect balance between sweet and hot. I adjusted the red pepper flakes and the ginger in it. My husband suggested that I make it more tropical by adding flaked coconut. I did that and it was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMickas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this to go with some miso salmon, and it was just delicious. Sweetness from the mango, tang from the pineapple...yum! I was too pressed for time to add the ginger, and being sensitive on spicy things I omitted the pepper flakes altogether. But there was still so much flavor, and still a bit of a kick to it to satisfy my sensitive taste buds as well as be mild enough for my 17 month old twins. Hopefully next time I'll manage to actually add the ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I make this recipe often and my friends have started making it too. It's so fresh and tasty! Always a crowd pleaser at pot lucks and other social events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is a delicious refreshing salsa for hot weather! My husband dislikes red onion, so I left that ingredient out. I baked it on talipia, and it was a hit! We ate the leftovers with tortilla chips the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States