Mango Pudding (Flan de Mango) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
My husband and I make this recipe and come out great, good flavor and consistency. But will taste much better if you make the mango puree with ripe mangoes. And real ones too, not those which came y cans with syrup because the flan will taste oversweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emonte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I make flan all the time. I've made all kinds but I had never made mango flan. I bought mango pulp that comes frozen (Goya brand carries many fruits this way) and it was about 1- 1/2 cups of fruit rather than 2 cups. Other than that, I followed the recipe for the flan including the rum. I do make my caramel differently. Over the years I've found that making it in the microwave in a Pyrex glass measuring cup is way easier. Add 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup water to the Pyrex dish and heat on high until it turns an amber color. Do not let it get too dark or it will taste burnt. This usually takes about 7-10 minutes. Pour that caramel in your pan and distribute it evenly in the bottom and sides of the pan. Do it fast as it will harden, but that's ok. I added all the flan ingredients in a blender and mixed them up there to create a smoother consistency. Then I poured the mix in the pan that had the caramel. I did the Bain Marie as indicated but had to bake longer than 45 minutes for it to set. It took about 60-70 minutes instead. Cool down, put in refrigerator and flip on to a platter when ready to serve. It looks gorgeous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I tried this recipe because i wanted to try something different and i can honestly say it was DELICIOUS!!! and very easy to prepare. I baked it a few times now for other people and have heard anyone said they did not like it.. highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a good Flan recipe. If you are looking for pudding, look elsewhere. It is a bummer that the person rated it low because they were expecting a pudding. Flan is more of a custard than a pudding. **Important note!! This (and all Flan) recipe is mediocre at best if served warm fresh out of the oven. Make sure you chill it at least one day in the fridge before serving, and you will have everyone asking for seconds. I switched the rum for Amaretto, and used key lime juice instead of lemon juice. Also, I used much less sugar for the caramel than it calls for, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Living in Panama and having many mango trees, I had to try this. It came out wonderful! I read the other reviews and I think maybe the "powdery" taste that one person talked about may have came from not fully ripe mangos. Also the ones who said it was not like a pudding, well it's not a pudding it's flan. It's a type of custard dessert. If you like flan, you will like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this last night put it in the refrigerator overnight and tasted it this morning and it was delicious!!! Being hispanic flan is something we have constantly for dessert. I loved the flavor! Mango brings such a refreshing taste to flan! The only change that I made was used 10oz of sweetened condensed milk only because I didn't have enough, and I also omitted the rum since I didn't have any but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and my family loved it! It's already being requested for a birthday on Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
Being a Flan lover, I had to try this recipe. The instructions are not very clear. You should prepare the pan were you are going to bake the flan (caramelized) and in the blender mix the rest of the ingredients. Pour the mix over caramelized pan and bake. It took a litle more than one hour, but is is worth it. It is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I didn't like this at all. I made the recipe exactly like stated, but it tasted powdery. Which i suppose came from the corn starch, which Ive never seen in flan before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Did not like it. My husband and I love mango, so I decided to give this a try. It didn't taste like mango at all to us. I would not make this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I love mango pudding so i tried this recipe. I did not like the pudding at all! It was too sweet and the mango pudding didn't taste right....my suggestion: if u want mango pudding...try the recipes that was some sort of gelatin for the setting of the pudding...those tend to be not so heavy and syruppy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States