Mango, Peach and Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wonderful dish!!! I used canned diced tomatoes, pineapple tidbits and a jalapeno for each batch. We canned it..Boil it for 10 minutes then put in jars..Put in a water bath for 15 minutes. A new favorite in my home!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Wonderful salsa! I did take others advice and halved the amount of cilantro and I also only used about 1/2 cup of water because the mangos were very juicy. A lot of chopping but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Really great...received rave reviews from both men and women when taken to a gathering of friends over the weekend. A little dash of cayenne adds a slightly spicy kick that is a nice compliment to the sweet and savory flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I agree with the others that mentioned how they disliked the cilantro. This recipe calls for WAY TOO MUCH of it. I think it is safe to say that the cilantro ruined what otherwise would have been a really good salsa. This recipe is good enough to make again, but next time I'll definitely keep the cilantro to a bare minimum. I wouldn't get rid of it completely because the cilantro does add flavor and kick to it, but because it is such a strong herb, the MOST I'll add next time is 1/5 cup, probably less. I put the salsa over some salmon but I liked the salmon better without the salsa. Maybe the excessive amount of cilantro steered me away. It may have otherwise been really good. Keep note that this recipe is set to yield 16 servings, which I didn't realize until after I had made it. It makes a lot. I also added only half an onion and I'm glad I did, especially because I'm not a big fan of using lots of onion. A small amount is okay, but I think a whole onion would have been too much Tomorrow I plan on making the same recipe (but this time not using any cilantro) and adding it to what I currently have to weaken the intensity of the cilantro. My advice is that if you're not sure about using the large amounts of a particular food that this recipe calls for (such as onion or cilantro), use only half of what the recipe calls for. See how you like it. If you think it needs more, add more. Be careful because once you add too much, there's no getting it out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Borgem
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
it was a big hit with my friends...the onions were a bit much as was the cilantro and I omitted the water altogether as the salsa was already soupy enough without it. Also, I had to sub in canned peach halves because they are out of season, but I just made su to Darin them off as best I could and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Awesome salsa! Very filling with all the healthy ingredients I followed others advice by: "For the dressing, I shake the following together in a medium sized glass jar: garlic, lime juice, & salt in the amounts as written plus 3/4 c pineapple juice (instead of water), 1-2 T sugar (instead of 2T), 1/4 tsp ground black pepper, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, & 1 T olive oil. I let the dressing sit for 5-10 minutes to let the flavors mingle, then shake again and pour over the salsa."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The salsa was very yummy! It was the perfect blend of veggies and fruit! I made one batch as directed and for the other batch I added diced habeneros. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Salsa was great, but I made some changes. I omitted the peaches, used half the amount of tomato, omitted the sugar and water, but instead used some pineapple juice and about 1/4 cup of lime juice. I also added some black beans and a diced jalepeno. I served it over grilled fish - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
nice flavors in this salsa...made it for my daughter & grand-daughter and they both loved it...will make it again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memaof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This salsa recipe was great, only I tweaked it a touch. I used small or roma tomatoes, so I probably tripled or quadrupled the number of tomatoes, the fruit was so sweet, I probably could have eliminated the sugar, but cut it down to 1Tbs., and I felt it needed a little more spice, so I added 1/4 cup chopped jalepenos from a jar-chopped into tiny pieces; which made it about a medium heat wise. I'm going to try freezing this, would like to can some if anyone has any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nchris01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States