Mango Papaya Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A good base. I was hesitant to add the vinegar to the entire mix without knowing how it will taste - it's definitely an interesting flavor and could be great if you're serving it with the right dish (chicken?). I would prefer this to have a kick--some jalapeno and a hit of lime juice would be preferred. aybe even red onion instead. Since I have neither jalapeno nor lime on hand, I just added fresh lemon juice... good mix of flavors though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe looks sooo beautiful on the plate. It also tasted so good! I skipped the balsamic vinegar though. Instead I used lime. I also added a habanero pepper which tasted really good and added some spice but beware if your sensitive to spicy! I am pregnant and talk about heartburn! I served the salsa with the chicken kabobs mexicana. The salsa comlemented the kabobs perfectly. I felt like such a gourmet cook! I had to call and recommend the recipe to my mom and sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I kind of messed this up b/c I forgot to write down *exactly* what's in it but I liked it nonetheless. I forgot the balsamic vinegar and I loathe onions so I didn't add it to mine. I added some honey b/c our fruit wasn't very ripe. I put it on salmon and it was delicious. (I have some leftover and will add balsamic to it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Best salsa ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
A very good fresh tasting salsa--goes very well with jerk pork by the way :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
There is no better salsa recipe out there - always a hit!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! I ended up adding a little sugar to it to bring out the taste of the fruits. Instead of using it to top the jerk flavored chicken I made, my guests ate it as a salad on it's own - and loved it! I can't wait until summer to make this refreshing salsa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I had a party with 30 adults they loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie storek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipie is really exotic and mouth watering!!! it's a perfect combination with fish and it really impressed by italian cooking friends!... even if I didn't have mango do add... but just papaya! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pen_capp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
The fresh flavors make this a perfect accompaniment to a lot of foods. I happened to have beef chuck steaks on hand which I grilled. I topped it with more than a generous portion of the salsa. I still have some left over that I think I'll try on fish tomorrow. I did add the juice of 1 small lemon and 1 lime and 1/2 jalapeño pepper minced at the advise of another reviewer which I think added just the right bit of kick. I'm going to try this in beef fajitas too. Great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States