Mango, Orange, Grapefruit, Avocado, and Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
You cannot go wrong with avocado salad with such twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is an awesome recipe! I have yet to try it with Pistachio's though. I'm not really a fan of nuts in my salads :( I do use feta in place of the blue cheese, as I am the only one that likes blue in our house. This makes for a wonderful springtime or summer salad with all of the wonderful colors. I love this with a nice spring mix or with a romaine/spinach mixture. My favorite dressing to serve with this is Citrus Vinaigrette by Maple Grove Farms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Oh my goodness, this salad is amazing. I am not partial to blue cheese so I used feta and I used tangerines instead of oranges. I also didn't use the lettuce or dressing because I wanted a more decorative side salad. This salad is simply bursting with flavors. I sprinkled a little stevia over the grapefruits to take the edge off as well. I could see making this salad with fish or chicken or even for a brunch with eggs and salmon. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I took it to a football tailgaiting party and it was a hit. I used goat cheese and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Actually I want to give 4.5 stars. It doesn't get the final 1/2 star as I like a bit more bite of chilliness in a salad like this. So this is MY personal taste opinion. This is very good and is the second most popular salady item on the menu in our Café
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
ohh this was so good! I had to skip the blue cheese and pistachios since I didn't have any but I can only imagine how much more awesome this would be with them. I made my own dressing with balsamic vinegar, olive oil and a little honey, plus sprinkled the whole salad with lemon juice, salt and pepper. I used fresh field greens and arugula instead of romaine for extra nutritional punch. this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is a perfect salad for a hot day. The combination of fruits is delicious and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwendolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This combination of ingredients came to their best fruition when eaten together. I took this to a dinner party and it easily fed 30 people who went back for extras. I received endless compliments. I stuck to the recipe except that I doubled the amount of romaine (which substantially increased the volume), added some carrot shreds, and made my own balsalmic dressing. To the vinegar I added cumin, fresh ginger, and seasoning salt, and whisked these all with olive oil. After tossing, I garnished the salad with edible flowers. The presentation was impressive and would have been as awe-inspiring minus the flowers, simply because of the beautiful array of fruit colors. I cannot wait to make this salad again when I have the crowd to serve it to or the special occasion on which to share this delicious salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States