Mango Masala Scallop Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
You don't need the seasoned skewers for this recipe to work. Maybe they add some flavor, but we had plenty without them. I soaked plain skewers in wine and sprinkled curry powder on top just for fun. I used a bag of Coleson's Catch frozen scallops and ended up with about 8 skewers of food between the scallops, mango and onions. You could leave off the onions though, because they cook much much faster than the scallops and even burn. I didn't mind that crispiness, but if you'd rather leave them off the skewers and use them as a garnish after it's all cooked that would work as well. I also sprinkled the scallops with curry powder. I didn't have lime juice, so I just used 2 parts sweet thai chile sauce to 1 part reduced sodium soy sauce and tripled the recipe given to make lots of dipping sauce. It was and incredible dinner and this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Seasoned skewers are amazing! I couldn't imagine what or how they would flavor the scallops and mango until I tried them. They were better than a marinade. The flavor they imparted was deep and subtle at the same time. My advice is to make sure that your grill is pre-heated, and to oil the grill rack instead of the kabobs (or in addition to the kabobs). I had some trouble with sticking, but I fault my technique for that. Oh, and one more thing: The seasoned skewers come in packs of 10. Since this recipe only calls for 4 skewers I opened the package just enough to slide out the 4, then I wrapped the open package in plastic wrap. I don't know if the skewers lose flavor when exposed to the air, but don't want to take any chances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
These were just terrific. I marinated the scallops in mango juice (used already cut mangos in juice in a jar from the produce isle), soy sauce and ginger. The mango is wonderful on the grill, everyone raved. A nice light summer grill recipe. I did not use the flavored skewers, just didn't have time to find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Excellent recipe. The skewers really add to the flavor so I recommend going out of your way to find them. I live in Los Angeles and went to the Bristol Farms in Manhattan Beach for the skewers. The sauce also adds to the flavor. This is a recipe that I will make again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Excellent! This is a great spring/summer recipe and so amazingly delicious! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I made these for a dinner party. The main change I made was also to skewer some large shrimp. It was awesome. The flavor permeats the seafood. I did mix up a bit of mango chutney with lime juice as a side sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I used Honey Bourbon skewers and substituted shallots (slightly sauteed) for the green onions. My family loved it and have asked for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This recipe was so good! The flavors in it were just amazing! I couldn't find curry mango skewers anywhere. But did find ginger mango. They were awesome! Like others said, the flavors just permiate the food. I'll never use regular skewers again! I also never had Mango before and or tried to cook with it. It was great. I would suggest using extra onions though. I used what was called for and there just wasn't enough and had to use some greens to fill. It was a great recipe and something you just have to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by borofirefighter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was so yummy. Somehow the mango flavor is a nice contrast to the scallops and grilling them brings out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
LOVED these. Had an seafood and beer patio party and these scallop skewers were gone so fast! I couldn't get my hands on the 'seasoned skewers' so opted to use a curry butter instead (from Grilled Mussels with Curry Butter recipe listed on this site). Brushed the butter on in the last minute or so of grilling...will definitely be doing these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States