Mango-Lime Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I rarely if EVER rate recipes horribly low, but this recipe needs some SERIOUS flavour. It's quick enough to make but needs some spices/herbs to make it pop. It was extremely bland. I would also disagree w/ cubing the mango. I think a rough chop is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipie was very bland I had to add a ton of extra lime just to get any flavor. Also the mango just didn't seem to go... Will probably not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annelisewright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I wanted to like this recipe much more than I actually did. It wasn't bad and I will probably try making it again, but it was missing something. I did use white rice because that is all I had on hand. It was a little dry...I think next time I will add more lime juice and hopefully that will compensate for the "missing" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I added some cooked turkey and chicken stock plus an extra mango. I also added another tbsp. of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Pretty good. The mango I had on hand was a bit over ripe, so the rice was a bit stringy. But I really liked the flavor of the rice. A nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I was disappointed that I couldn't find a mango in any of my grocery stores. I had to use a can of tropical fruit. It was good but my family didn't like some of the fruit. I liked it but made the mistake of stirring in the fruit and letting it sit. I should have known better it made the fruit warm. I used dried cilantro which I added in the beginning so it could simmer. I think it also needed more lime juice. Also, I will probably try it again with white rice. I can't get my family to like brown rice. Overall I think it is a refreshing change for a side dish. I am definitely going to make it again and hopefully find some mango!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Good. Next time I will add more mango. Mother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This rice was good. Not great. I made it with Jasmine rice - but that was the only change. Could have used a little more lime juice to enhance the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very good! I'm not a big fan of brown rice, but have been trying to find ways to incorporate it into our diet. This was definitely a perfect match to the Grilled Fish Tacos. Thanks! Oh, I also through in a chicken boullion cube when cooking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States