Mango Lassi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was good, but I do not think I'd want to make this again, or at least very often, just because it's difficult to blend w/essentially no liquid. I had to do a lot of scrape/blend back & forth to get it to start mixing well, and I'd dumped the ice in first (only way my blender will crush it) which started getting liquidy as I went. In the end I managed to mix the holy heck out of it and not have even any fibrous stuff, but it took a while. I only had one mango - this was my first experience with fresh mango as well - so I filled in with 1-1/2 cups of Trader Joe's chunked frozen. (Cheaper anyway.) I used vanilla yogurt since I rarely have plain on hand. That's a lot of sugar. I didn't think it was too sweet. The fresh mango was very ripe but it still seemed to need sweetening. It's just more a matter of shoving that much sugar in me than a concern about the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was a very pleasant surprise. I wouldn't say it's "absolutely heavenly" like the description says, but it was very tasty. I had some plain yogurt to use up, and I don't like the taste of it very much at all. And I'd never bought fresh mangoes before, so seeding them was an experience. I was skeptical about the mangos and sugar adding enough sweetness to hide the bitterness of the yogurt, but they really did. I was also skeptical about the results being liquid enough to drink, but they really were - perhaps this was because I used 1 cup of ice by weight (8 oz.) instead of using a measuring cup. I'd been seeing lassi recipes for a while, and had never had one, so this was a great introduction, and I just may make them again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
great drink I love lassis.havent found a good recipe,this ones a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is the first time I ever made and tasted a Mango Lassie and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRoya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Yummy. The kids really loved it. Great way to use perfect mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It's o.k, definitely not restaurant quality. If you want it to taste like the restaurant use mango puree in the can. It really makes the difference plus add a little water so it's not so insanely thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
PERFECT! I love mango and pretty much any drink that is prepared in a blender but this is going to be one that I make a lot! For convience I used Dole all natural frozen mangos that are already peeled and cut into small chunks. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
So incredibly smooth, delicious, and easy! I love that all the ingredients are common, too. We used lowfat yogurt, but I bet nonfat would have been just as creamy, and it would have added some nice extra tartness. We'll make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
i loved this mango lassi, though i did change it a bit. i halved this recipe (just for me!) and, for the more health-conscious, i suggest replacing the white sugar with 1 tbsp (or less!) of raw cane sugar, especially if the mangoes are already naturally really sweet. i also replaced plain unsweetened kefir for the yogurt and added cinnamon which i loved! what a delicious drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very good! If you are using whole ice cubes, it may be a good idea to crush the ice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States