Mango Lassi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
Pretty good. Make sure to get a ripe mango. Other recipes suggest adding cumin (a pinch of roasted, ground seeds) or cardamom (1/4 tsp). Don't try to dilute with milk--it muddies the mango taste. Add water, seltzer, or vodka. I added half the recommended sugar and it was fine. I'm glad she said to take the seed out. It makes an awful racket in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I used 2 cups of water, and substituted honey for the sugar. Now I no longer need to go to the Indian restaurants to get my lassi fix. Thanks. Oh, by the way, my toddler gulped it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This smoothie is very good if you are a mango lover. I added more honey for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Too watery. The water measurement is incorrect. It ends up diluting all the taste of the mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I really wanted to make a mango lassi just like the ones in the Indian restaurants, and this turned out wonderfully. I do have to caution that some of the fibrous mango strings may not blend completely, but it is still a great drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Good! I reduced this to make 1 serving (a big one) as follows. 1 small mango, 3/4 cup yogurt, 1 cup water, and 1 teaspoon sugar. Blending it all. Yum! Healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
There was too much water required. I only used 2 cups and it was still too watery. I also think it might be better with mango nectar versus the ripe mangos. This recipe captures the essence, but needs a lot of tweeking to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Too watery!! My kinda lassi has no water at all, it turns out like a creamy smooth, thick mango smoothie.People who like it that way can completely omit the water.And about the mango strings, strain the mango through a seive. As some of the others suggested, do get a very ripe and non-soury mango. For those who do not have access to mangoes, indian and chinese stores carry cans of alphonso mango pulp, which works just as good. For a creamier treat, you can add whipped cream, turns out really thick almost like a shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was absolutely delicious! Instead of the white sugar, I added 1/2 cup mango nectar. This intensified the mango taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States