Mango Lassi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Too watery!! My kinda lassi has no water at all, it turns out like a creamy smooth, thick mango smoothie.People who like it that way can completely omit the water.And about the mango strings, strain the mango through a seive. As some of the others suggested, do get a very ripe and non-soury mango. For those who do not have access to mangoes, indian and chinese stores carry cans of alphonso mango pulp, which works just as good. For a creamier treat, you can add whipped cream, turns out really thick almost like a shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
There was too much water required. I only used 2 cups and it was still too watery. I also think it might be better with mango nectar versus the ripe mangos. This recipe captures the essence, but needs a lot of tweeking to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Good! I reduced this to make 1 serving (a big one) as follows. 1 small mango, 3/4 cup yogurt, 1 cup water, and 1 teaspoon sugar. Blending it all. Yum! Healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I really wanted to make a mango lassi just like the ones in the Indian restaurants, and this turned out wonderfully. I do have to caution that some of the fibrous mango strings may not blend completely, but it is still a great drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Too watery. The water measurement is incorrect. It ends up diluting all the taste of the mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This smoothie is very good if you are a mango lover. I added more honey for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I used 2 cups of water, and substituted honey for the sugar. Now I no longer need to go to the Indian restaurants to get my lassi fix. Thanks. Oh, by the way, my toddler gulped it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
Pretty good. Make sure to get a ripe mango. Other recipes suggest adding cumin (a pinch of roasted, ground seeds) or cardamom (1/4 tsp). Don't try to dilute with milk--it muddies the mango taste. Add water, seltzer, or vodka. I added half the recommended sugar and it was fine. I'm glad she said to take the seed out. It makes an awful racket in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States