Mango Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The orange juice makes it too sweet and runny, and there wasn't any spice to balance it. (I DID use a whole jalapeno, but couldn't taste it at all.) I do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This dish tastes great with fish. I added corn and would lessen the oj on this one by 1/4 a cup. It is good when the dish is very cold. I would probably use the same ingredients for a salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I chopped the remaining ingredients finely, added half a shot of Tequila and served it as Gazpacho shooters. What a hit at the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I had mango gazgacho at Medusa Grill in Lake Geneva Wisconsin a couple of weeks ago. I had to find a recipe because I thought it was a delicious first course. This is the only version on all recipes and it turned out wonderfully. It has more orange taste than the restauarant one had. I may have to experiment with it. Very glad I tried this. I used not from concentrate orange juice labled as having lots of pulp so my "broth was thicker" than the restaurant version. I love finding good recipes for cold summer soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Photo by jillallison
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I have made this recipe twice now. It is fantastic gazpacho...and so easy! I followed the advice of several other reviewers--dropped the OJ down to 1 1/2 c, blended the garlic cloves in with the mango and OJ, added about 1/2 T freshly grated ginger, and 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper flakes. My husband commented last night that this dish needs to be on heavy rotation while mangos are in season!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
SO GOOD! The only change I made was to puree the garlic and lime juice w/ the magoes, o.j. and evoo b/c I didn't want chunks of garlic in there and I wanted the lime juice to be well incorporated. This had great, fresh flavor and was a wonderful use for some over-ripe mangoes....so pretty too! I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wow. This was even better than I was anticipating. I did make a couple of alterations for convenience and taste. I used a bit more than two cups of mango to finish up 2 mangoes and to make it thicker. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil as I am not comfortable with raw garlic and skipped the onion since I was serving this to someone with an onion allergy. I'm pretty sure I forgot the lime juice and I think that would have added to it but it was wonderful anyway. I was glad to have help in the kitchen with all of the chopping. This was a bit of work to put together but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was a great summer recipe and very refreshing. The only thing I would offer here is depending upon your knife skills, this recipe might take a bit longer to prep than suggested. I do not cut quickly, so it took me about 25 minutes longer to prep. The dish went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Delicious and I used Trader Joe's frozen mango which made it pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
We just did made this recipe last night, and it turned out so well! We left out the chopped veggies and put them on a plate so everyone could garnish as desired. We also put in a little less oj than mango as we wanted to taste the mango more. Such a flavorful delight!! And so refreshing on a hot summer night. We will be incorporating this into our summer soups! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States