Mango Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
If you prefer a thicker, more fruit preserve-like consistency for your chutney, you can modify the cooking method on this excellent recipe and its blend of flavors as I did: Using the 30 serving size recipe, use all ingredients as measured, except: Adjust sugar to 1/2 cup each white and brown, add 1 TBSP butter to your ingredient list, and try 2 TBSPs each white vinegar and lemon juice (vs. 1/4 cup vinegar). For the cooking method: Set saucepan on medium heat (I used a 2.5 quart Le Creuset saucepan, which heats more evenly than any pan I have used, so medium high will be too high). Melt butter, and add dry spices, stirring with a silicone spatula or spoon, 2 mins. til fragrant. Add all other ingredients (except nuts; you will add them at the end). Stir gently until combined. It will take appr. 10 mins. for the mixture to come to a simmer. Once the simmer has begun, set timer for 60 minutes, and cook, maintaining a gentle but consistent simmer (in my saucepan there were 10 pockets of nickel - size bubble groups across the top). Stir gently with spatula every 5 mins. or so. After 60 mins., turn off the heat and let cool in the saucepan. The chutney will be reduced in volume, and will be the consistency of a fruit preserve. Stir in 1/4 cup chopped slivered almonds or macadamia nuts. Store in air tight container, refrigerate, and enjoy! Great on Wasa crackers with cream cheese, or mixed with diced chicken for a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I downsized this recipe to serve 30, you must also downsized cooking times as you can easily overcook. I love chutney with a pork roast, this one is good but not a favorite, I would cut out the allspice or just a pinch as it is a predominate taste in this chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I am a chutney lover, and this is the best of all. It is a wonderful chicken marinade. My favorite way of serving, is on top of cream cheese with triskets. I made this last summer, and gave away as Christmas gifts. Everyone LOVED it! It came out more juicy than I thought. I thought it would thicken as it cooled. Next time I would add more mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was very easy to make and I didn't find the color unappealing. After reading the reviews and others thinking they might have cooked the sugar too much, I cut down the first two intermitent cooking times to about 15 min and then cooked everything a little longer after adding the mango. I cooked it until the mango was almost translucent and had taken on the color of the sauce. I would add more mango next time, it cooks down a little so maybe another half cup if you're doing the 30 serving recipe. The saucy part does thicken as it cools, which was really nice. Overall, this mango chutney smells great and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
PLEASE, if you scale down the recipe, adjust your cooking time accordingly. Don't make stupid amateur mistakes like me and burn the whole batch. I'm sure it's a good recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this chutney several times & it is excellent. Super on grilled salmon. I never have all the ingredients and it always turns out good! Ground ginger works fine, also dry crushed red pepper works (in small amounts). For something different, try adding pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
FABULOUS!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and served it with the Turkey. It's dark brown color was strange at first but once everyone tried it, it was a HUGE hit. Guests asked to take some home!!! I reduced the recipe to serve 30 but next time I will make a full batch and give it as a gift. This will most likely become a Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made chutney and I thought this was an excellent recipe. I made half the recipe and you still have more than plenty to share with your friends. After reading about the chili pepper quantity making this very spicy I decided to use only one chili pepper. That was a mistake on my part I could have used 2 and it would have had the kick that chutney is supposed to have. Just a note: You can buy ginger and garlic paste at the indian grocery and use that in place of the fresh ginger root and garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Although it took some time to make... it was worth the wait!!! I LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Thanks to Shirley, I had unique food gifts to put in all my Christmas baskets to friends and relatives. Easy and tasty chutney. My friends are calling saying they loved the gift baskets and the chutney is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States