Mango Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is amazing. Very sweet and tart and goes well on sweet potatoes and lentils. I make it frequently and it's so easy to scale down. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
More of a braising meat (pork is the best!) chutney than a eat-with-curry chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this to use up three leftover overripe mangoes. I scaled down to 52 servings (3 and 1/2 cups diced mangoes) and followed the cooking method suggested by Kirchy7. I left out the nuts and didn't bother with the fresh ginger root. Also I used red pepper flakes instead of a chile pepper. Mine looked done after about 40 minutues, but I probably simmered it a bit high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made chutney and I thought this was an excellent recipe. I made half the recipe and you still have more than plenty to share with your friends. After reading about the chili pepper quantity making this very spicy I decided to use only one chili pepper. That was a mistake on my part I could have used 2 and it would have had the kick that chutney is supposed to have. Just a note: You can buy ginger and garlic paste at the indian grocery and use that in place of the fresh ginger root and garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made half of the serving and this came out perfect. A little sweet and a little spicy! I served this with white rice and the recipe for Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was wonderful except that the quantity was way too much for my needs and when I scaled it down, there was far too little fluid to cook in so I had to add more liquid several times to keep it going and adjust temperatures drastically to keep it from burning. The flavors and aroma were well worth the trouble though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by succulentfare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Tast fine, but the cooking times didn't work. This recipe took far longer to cook, and the liquid never did really cook down even though the mangos had almost disintegrated. So....I don't know where those high ratings came from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I tried the original and then added papaya to my second try! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
My guy said this recipe looked and tasted like GOOD chutney, and he LOVES mangoes. I enjoyed it. This was my first taste of chutney. It was wonderful served cold with broiled chunks of marinated pork sirloin, onion, red bell pepper, and cubes of mango. 1 1/2 lbs. pork chunks were marinated for 2 hours in a zip lock bag with these seasonings: 1/4 C olive oil, 1/4 C lime juice, 2 tsp.minced fresh garlic, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Then it was combined with the chunks of vegetables and mango on an oiled broiler pan. All of it was lightly salt and peppered, then broiled on high till the meat was lightly browned. White rice was served with this meal. I reduced the chutney recipe to a six-portion serving. I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you Shirley for a fun new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I also downsized to 30. It made one 8 oz jar of chutney with about a 1/4 cup leftover, which my husband devoured straight. I used one habanero for the chiles which gave it a nice after burn. I didn't have ginger root, but didn't miss it. I cooked everything in a large sauce pan, so I had a very thin layer of ingredients cooking at all times. Step 1 took 10 minutes. Step 2 took 15 minutes. Step 3 took 15 minutes on gas stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States