Mango Chutney Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
very good. a little sweet, but definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
WOW!!! You can't go wrong with this one. I cooked the bacon and used Major Grey's Mango Chutney, which I found in the ketchup/mustard aisle of my grocery store. I noticed that you can also purchase Major Grey's online, but I have seen it at several grocery stores. I fed 15 people and had 10 requests for the recipe. That's a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Sorry! I really wanted to like this recipe, as I love all the ingredients. In fact, I used all high quality ingredients. I made it for a friend's daughter's wedding shower, 50 people, and no one liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but like others have said, the brand of mango chutney you use could make a big difference. Mine was very chunky and too sweet. I think my idea of a "bunch" of green onions was too much. Next time I would use less onions and I would cook the bacon until it was crunchy. I had used pre-cooked bacon, and it just didn't give the ball enough flavor. I felt this needed something a bit tangier, so maybe craisins instead of raisins, or lime juice mixed with the chutney? I'm just not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The ingredients for this recipe seemed odd, but good. I recently served this at a holiday cocktail party and it was a hit! It was the first cheese ball I have ever made. I served it with pretzels and crackers. It was delicious and still yummy the next day. I served it with chicken satay skewers, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I couldn't find mango chutney at the store, so I made my own. Mango jam, white vinegar, raisins, onion, garlic, spices - turned out great. The cheese ball was a hit. Men at our party were all over the dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I used the spicy chutney and mixed it right in the cream cheese to make more of a spread. People absolutely *raved* over this. I sprinkled toasted almonds over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I live in a small town and couldn't find mango chutney. So, I subsituted mango salsa (strained) mixed with apple jelly. It was FABULOUS! I also didn't add the golden raisins, personal taste. It has already been requested for Christmas Day;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
AWESOME! The flavors work SOOO well together. Couldn't find Mango Chutney so I used Smuckers Mango Jam. Didn't have plastic wrap, so I lined a small round bowl with a plastic storage bag and pressed it into shape. I made the bottom flat so that it would sit nicely on a plate. The cheese gets pretty firm once refrigerated, so I recommend putting a spreading knife out with the dip and crackers to make it easier on your guests, otherwise you will end up with a cheeseball full of broken cracker parts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach747

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Fabulous. Made it for my aunt's wedding. Easy to make and everyone loved it, even my husband who is normally "grossed out" by cheese balls. Requested I make it for Thanksgiving. I'm thinking this would be extra yummy rolled in chopped pecans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States