Mango Chutney Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
very good. a little sweet, but definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
WOW!!! You can't go wrong with this one. I cooked the bacon and used Major Grey's Mango Chutney, which I found in the ketchup/mustard aisle of my grocery store. I noticed that you can also purchase Major Grey's online, but I have seen it at several grocery stores. I fed 15 people and had 10 requests for the recipe. That's a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Sorry! I really wanted to like this recipe, as I love all the ingredients. In fact, I used all high quality ingredients. I made it for a friend's daughter's wedding shower, 50 people, and no one liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but like others have said, the brand of mango chutney you use could make a big difference. Mine was very chunky and too sweet. I think my idea of a "bunch" of green onions was too much. Next time I would use less onions and I would cook the bacon until it was crunchy. I had used pre-cooked bacon, and it just didn't give the ball enough flavor. I felt this needed something a bit tangier, so maybe craisins instead of raisins, or lime juice mixed with the chutney? I'm just not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The ingredients for this recipe seemed odd, but good. I recently served this at a holiday cocktail party and it was a hit! It was the first cheese ball I have ever made. I served it with pretzels and crackers. It was delicious and still yummy the next day. I served it with chicken satay skewers, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I couldn't find mango chutney at the store, so I made my own. Mango jam, white vinegar, raisins, onion, garlic, spices - turned out great. The cheese ball was a hit. Men at our party were all over the dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I used the spicy chutney and mixed it right in the cream cheese to make more of a spread. People absolutely *raved* over this. I sprinkled toasted almonds over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I live in a small town and couldn't find mango chutney. So, I subsituted mango salsa (strained) mixed with apple jelly. It was FABULOUS! I also didn't add the golden raisins, personal taste. It has already been requested for Christmas Day;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
AWESOME! The flavors work SOOO well together. Couldn't find Mango Chutney so I used Smuckers Mango Jam. Didn't have plastic wrap, so I lined a small round bowl with a plastic storage bag and pressed it into shape. I made the bottom flat so that it would sit nicely on a plate. The cheese gets pretty firm once refrigerated, so I recommend putting a spreading knife out with the dip and crackers to make it easier on your guests, otherwise you will end up with a cheeseball full of broken cracker parts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach747

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Fabulous. Made it for my aunt's wedding. Easy to make and everyone loved it, even my husband who is normally "grossed out" by cheese balls. Requested I make it for Thanksgiving. I'm thinking this would be extra yummy rolled in chopped pecans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States