Mango Chutney Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This cheese ball is my new favorite! I followed the recipe to a "T" except instead of the chutney, I diced two ripe mangoes and tossed with a TBS or so of melted red jalepeno jelly. I placed the cheese ball on a footed pedestal and pressed it down so it was shaped more like a disk instead of a ball, and placed the chopped mango mixture on top. I have taken this to several functions and no kidding, not a crumb left. (I now double the recipe) I do want to say to some of the others that working with curry you must let the flavors develop, so patience, trust the recipe, refrigerate overnite and enjoy. Thanks PHROGGI for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I bought a fancy jar of mango chutney, and it was not at all pretty. It made my cheese ball look nightmarish! Besides looking scary, the taste was not something everyone appreciated at the girls night out get together that I took this to. In fact, many didn't even taste it! I did like this and think it could have been really wonderful with different chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Served this at my wedding, and will be serving it at my dad's 75th birthday this weekend. Lovely presentation and interesting combination of flavours. A great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I have made this and it is fantastic! I used 1/2 cup each of bacon, green oinions and raisins along with a 1/2 cup of chopped peanuts. You will not have leftovers! I used light cream cheese and light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Great! I only wanted to deal with one 8oz package of cream cheese, so I just adjusted the other ingredients to work with it. I made the cheese ball itself exactly as directed, and added some fresh mango and golden raisins to Major Grey's for the top. Excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I love making this recipe because it is so easy to make and everyone always comments about how much they love it. I serve this with various bagel chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Good - but a taste that not all rave over. My mom loved it, I thought it was good but now wow. Worth trying to see if it works for your taste buds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Tawas, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is a real crowd pleaser! I served this for the "meat and potatoes" crowd and even though they were not keen on the chutney, I could not keep them away from 2nds, 3rds, 4ths. Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I feel like the bacon taste was barely there. I added the whole rest of the package and it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I didn't have the budget for mango chutney, so I chopped and mashed some mango and piled it on top like the main picture and it looked just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States